Beauty Is Pain: A Phrase Women Are Told As Children And Why It's A Lie

in #nsfw6 years ago

1IMG_7381.jpg

1IMG_7386.jpg

It's a phrase I learned from my step mother as she brushed tangles out of my hair as a child, little girls are taught that enduring suffering will make you beautiful and we must be attractive to be loved. Women have long suffered for the attention of suitors, from tight corsets, high heels, make up, shaving to eating disorders, our gender has been molded into being appealing to men at our own expense. We have forgotten about natural beauty, you don't have to work yourself to the point of pain to be attractive.

1IMG_7334.jpg

1IMG_7345.jpg

Beauty standards have lead women to drug addictions, eating disorders, sexual assault and a life of emotional and physical pain, these habit forming thoughts planted early within a child's mind with subliminal messaging in every make up commercial, music video, and model ridden advertisement. Even some movies for children, such as Disney, stress the damsel in distress and societal pressures for women to fit a particular role. With all these expectations and standards for women, its no surprise that most women don't respect and value themselves or their bodies. The feeling of being worthless and lack of respect and love for yourself is a key factor in many abusive situations, the down play and inability to regain control of their situations and make a change for the better. So many women believe they deserve the abuse being dealt or they just aren't worth the fight for something better and that is simply not true.

1IMG_7425.jpg

1IMG_7326.jpg

I have experienced molestation as a child, and I struggled with obesity as a teenager I had no respect for myself, my body and didn't believe myself to be worthy of anything more than being taken advantage of over and over again, but as I have grown I have found a love and respect for myself, I found the voice that put an end to the abuse I kept coming face to face with. Beauty doesn't have to be painful, beauty can be easy and natural you just have to find love for yourself and you will radiate beauty from the inside out.

1IMG_7374.jpg

E86BB350-B538-42B7-97BC-F8F7C039A9AC.jpeg

05A21B54-FF67-45B1-8295-96E93C0DE232.jpeg

Sort:  

Keep up the nice work.

068D0CF4-E75E-4B13-9021-B70DB26E1217.gif

Great photography. I like that you placed yourself in a visually subtle environment. That makes the eyes be drawn to you and your body art. The photos add to the effect on the readers for having respect for one's self.

True beauty comes from within. Embrace it for the world to see.

enjoy your beauty darling

Hi! First of all i like your 7 chakra tattoo! I bet you have a great story to tell. I love when I hear that people have the courage and the power to fight life and they got up no matter how many fights they lost. You are Beautiful!

You've spoken the truth.
This truth have mostly been conveyed from women to women.

I think u could have said same words being in clothes. Is this an attempt to be rebalious to convey your feelings.

I otherwise agree with everything that u said

This is me feeling unashamed of who I am or my body and sharing some of my opinions, personal experiences and thoughts along with my natural beauty and love for myself.

I respect your feelings. Keep it up beautiful lady.

Beautiful 💜

I really don't want this to sound snarky, so please don't take it that way... but surely your beautiful tattooes were somewhat painful when you got them, right?

I've had similar conversations with my wife a few times, on why I encourage her not to torture herself with fad diets and be happy with her body while I had no problem having laser hair removal on my legs. But it really seems to me like there's some distinction there that's difficult to articulate.

Making changes to our body might be painful in general, I guess... but I think that pain is worth it when we're doing it to better express the divinity we see in ourselves, rather than to align better with someone else's expectation of divinity.

For me, being tattooed is not painful, it’s therapeutic and releases endorphins. Change can be uncomfortable and even painful but change shouldn’t be in the name of a beauty standard. There is a difference in pain endured to please others including men and what you choose to endure to change yourself for you and your highest good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75