Moonlight Reflection Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Moonlight

Here's another quick painting. My youngest brother requested me to paint him a moon with it's light reflecting on a water surface.

He gave me an illustration board and I started to paint.
At first I used watercolor, but then I noticed that this type of paper/board is not compatible with watercolor. So I have no choice but to use acrylic paint.

Process

I prepared the watercolor and paintbrush and drafted the position of the moon and horizon on the given illustration board

20190813_184451.jpg

Then I started to paint the sky with Blue and Violet using watercolor. I noticed that the paper absorb the color in a weird way, it created unwanted blots.

20190813_184540.jpg

But I still continued to add more watercolor on it thinking that if I add more layers, maybe the blots and unwanted texture will not be visible

20190813_184622.jpg

And...
I gave up. I grabbed my acrylic paint, blue, black and white.

I painted another layer of acrylic over the old layer of watercolor. I also added some clouds to make it more dreamy.

20190813_184731.jpg

For the reflection of the moonlight, i painted the water surface with blue first and then I add layers of white strips in the middle of the water.

I also added silhouette of trees to make the painting more lively. I also fixed the shape and texture of the moon by adding more white acrylic paint.

20190813_183352.jpg

.. and, it's finished!

20190813_184843.jpg

I hope you all like it, thank you for dropping by !




Toggle Night mode to see the stars

Sort:  

Oh 😲 this is very pretty!!
Great job @aalagenesis!!! 💙⭐️🎨


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Full moon is coning soon, i hope it will be as radiant as in your beautiful artwork:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you Mr. @georgeboya !!! I am always watching the moon !!!

Here's tonight 's moonlight 20190813_203257.jpg

You are very welcome, i am looking at the moon all the time too. Sometimes i am talking to it also,lol. It looks really bright, i hope i will enjoy it also in a few hours:)

A lovely drawing, @aalagenesis :D I like how you capture the night's romance with the different shades of blues that you used on the sky and on the water :)

And love how you make the moon so glowy, with the use of the shine around it and how it is reflected on the water's surface, too <3 Glowy moon is sooooooooooo pretty * ___ *

Thank you so much @veryspider !

Thank you aalagenesis! You've just received an upvote of 35% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow to be a quick painting is very well achieved, I loved it is how the reflection of the moon on the waves, and the clouds, and that good detail when placing the dry tree that gives an air of mystery and certain romanticism to your painting.

Thank you so much for your expressive compliment !

I like this painting a lot and I just gonna say that you did an amazing work

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79