Marker Training

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0

This past weekend, as I rummaged through my old stuff I found this really old sketchbook. And when I say old, I mean it; the said sketchbook is one I remember purchasing for- I kid you not, my fourth/fifth grade of elementary school. I’m not that surprised because it was a standard item among the list of school supplies, however, I barely ever used it. My school sometimes asked for things the students barely ended touching thorough the school year.

This probably explains why I also found watercolor pencils, and a few water-based markers along the sketchbook. I’ve been always been careful with my stuff, so they're in pretty decent state- uh, minus a few teeth marks in the markers… because of reasons.

Funnily enough, a few days ago I had decided to turn to marker painting, if anything to keep going on with my art as my computer is still unavailable. So last Friday I ordered alcohol-based markers, a sketchbook and watercolor pencils from amazon that should be arriving in one week or so.

I can’t stand for good things going to waste, especially given my country situation, so I decided I’d use the sketchbook and water markers to practice and familiarize with it, and once I’m done with it I’ll be switching to my newly purchased materials –shrugs-.

Beware, though, as these markers are literally older than any of my younger siblings and had been used beforehand, I’ve already gone through half of the pack and some don’t paint that well or are running out of ink. Hence, the (present and future) drawings made will be very basic.

Here’s my first attempt.

I’m slowly settling for an art style. So far, I’ve decided about the eyes- I made a mistake in this drawing, but the pupil area should be blank; shit happens, I’ll do better in the future.

Not gonna lie, though… that’s probably the only compromise I’ll ever reach. Style is important, but I don’t particularly care. As long as I avoid the same-face syndrome and the drawing looks good to me, I’m good with the results.

I’ll never be famous or establish a brand and that’s fine, I don’t aim for that anyway. I just want to enjoy myself. To me, it’s more important whether or not I like the drawing than the ‘consistency’, a thing I’m unable to have even if I try (my mood and level of tiredness heavily influences on my performance).

Feel free of sharing your thoughts.


Instagram: https://ouo.io/cVbvou
Twitter: https://ouo.io/J1Coy6
Facebook: https://ouo.io/RxcO0T

Support Me on Ko-fi
Become a Patron!

Sort:  

Noice drawing @airiam!!!
Yes yes using everything at disposal for art is <3 great!!! <3
In my case I always try to fill every white space I can in my sketchbooks, even when they look full I always take old ones with still blank spaces and add some stuff :3


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Same @meloo182 same!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I like your drawing, followed!

airi! i also am like you, i find old arting stuff that i never used and then im like omg i should use them.... ! so i found some markers, then i tried them out

they were already dry

SPIDEY IS STUPID LIKE THAT

cute portrait ! you should draw more with markers :D :D :D

You're not stupid. I mean, I tried a pack of over a decade old markers and they DO work. Everything is possible.

That's the plan haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @airiam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97