Patches In The Grass

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

‘Patches In The Grass’ - Sketchbook Series #9

I Am Sitting Here ..

Feeling a bit sentimental. After reading @yanes94 ‘s posts and explaining that her little doggo has been sick.. I began to think way too much about our pups, Molly's’ disease, and then ultimately how we lost another baby of ours, Patches. Patches died several years ago at the age of 7. Way to early. Given her symptoms, she most likely died of a tick borne illness or leukemia. The cost of the tests and the fact that the bills were already super high, we did not elect to have after death testing performed. We were okay not knowing.

The Inspiration Was Found ..

Now in order to create my next Sketchbook Series painting. This will be #9 in the series. The last one I created was ‘Scotch Neat’ and that was 16 days ago.. I have been in a bit of a digital slump :-/ I had a little time, so here we are! ‘Patches In The Grass’ is the name of this creation. Patches always used to love hanging out in the grass. She would lay there and pant or eat the blades of grass. Now looking back, she was probably not feeling the best, thus the grass eating. But, in the grass she was free and happy to be. From this memory I drew her.. In a way I would like to remember her presence in my life. From start to finish, I spent about 2 hours working on this painting. I utilized some of the blending tools this time around in an attempt to create realistic looking blades of grass. It is impressionistic, so the lack of much detail is missing. I kept this one simple in color tones. Not quite black and white, but pretty close. As you all know by now, B&W’s are one of my favorites! I really hope you enjoy this one, although I do know that it will not have the same reminiscent appeal for you, as it does for me.

A Watercolor Is In The Works ..

For patches.. So I can display her next to Pepper’s Portrait and Molly’s Portrait that I completed not so long ago. Maybe if the stars align and an opportunity presents itself to me, this weekend’s agenda may include time spent on starting it. Anything and everything seems to happen on the weekends around her, so we'll just have to wait and see how good my time management skills are. Honestly though, I want to create her portrait soon. This is the photo I may use.

AB77D669-DF13-4C97-BF2D-9FACC154163E.jpeg

What fond memories we have of Patches ..

She was our first dog as a married couple. She was actually a wedding gift from two of our friends. Patches was a Lhasa Apso .. and had what they call ‘Lhasatude’. She had a bit of an attitude which at times presented as testy or aggressive.. Especially when by my wife or on her lap. Otherwise she was a very lovable pup. We have a few pictures of her displayed around the house. One of my favorites (pictured below) is of her and Pepper by the pond we built, at our first home. She would love to stare at the Koi drifting around in the water. Pepper had to be 1 or 2 in this photo.

048168FF-2444-4659-9084-653842BAB33C.jpeg

A Photo of Patches, Pepper and Mommie (my wife) ..

379DEA4B-24F5-4A00-A80A-D4CFAB0DE380.jpeg

Me and The Pups ..

64008D78-9228-4AF0-B9A9-C7E23F710ADF.jpeg

F5FB3699-9103-4626-B8B8-A3DE29D210DA.jpeg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Sort:  

Lovely sketch @bdmillergallery. Your digital drawing reminds me of black ink washes with white added for opacity.

♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

[nTopaz Curator]

Your work has been recognized by the nTopaz Curation Team for its excellent quality and its enrichment to our community. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

⚖️ S H I N E ⚖️ Y O U R ⚖️ L I G H T ⚖️
JOIN nTOPAZ DISCORD

Yes.. I see what you are saying. Very interesting. Thanks for the compliment and vote of support @allyinspirit!

A canine beauty! your work is very beautiful, I would put it in a painting to decorate the house! (printing the drawing without your permission to do it hahaha) lie, it was great <3

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone and community for your support!

all wonderful pics and the sketches look great. It is terrible that Patches had to leave so early in life. I worry about that happening to my fluff bunny.

Thanks and yea, it sucked. I remember not being able to get out of bed. bad bad bad. I worry as well as our pups age. We give them all the love possible!

Awwww, Patches <3 What a sweet gal she must have been.... * __ *

My first doggo also passed at the age of 7 and he was my heart doggo .... I can relate.

The picture is very lovely, with softness to it that it speaks about your bonds and memories of sweet Patches...

I send you hugs and hugs and hugs, and hugs <3

(sorry im just NOW catching up with commenting, Brad XD)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73