[CR] Lancaster County Morning

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

With Inspiration From Amish Country ..

I took a photograph, sketched my idea, and finished a painting. I took a photo with my iPhone 6s while in Lancaster County, Thanksgiving morning. I knew almost instantly that I wanted to paint the scene I had just captured. While I stood there absorbing the first rays of light and enjoying my surroundings, the orange yellow color was cast over all of the objects around me. This was truly a serene and inspirational moment in time. I was excited to get this image back to my small home studio so I could get to work on recreating it. I prefer not copying an image into my creation, but this time I am going to only change a few things from the original. You can see a side by side comparison below.

LancasterCountyMorning Join Pic 2.jpg

The First Post About The Photo ..

Inspiration From Amish Country .. and A Little Bit About The Amish

I Originally Was Thinking ..

That this was going to be a watercolor painting, but changed my mind after I started sketching everything out in pencil. I sometimes like to use my light weight, thin cross pencil that my parents gave me a very long time ago. I will just quickly throw a few major lines on the paper in order to get some perspective in place. Instead of a piece of canvas, I am going with Canson cold press 140lb watercolor paper. Oil paint goes on to the paper completely differently than canvas or hardboard. It’s a good kind of different.

IMG_0825.jpg
These lines are drawn fairly light. Sorry if you can just barely make them out.

The First Four Pictures ..

Show me sketching in the hard lines of the piece. Here I am using a ultra fine point black Sharpie. Sharpie absorbs and bonds to the paper pretty well. If I were to use water on this, It would not run and ruin my painting. For this piece I decided after I was done with the Sharpie and hard lines, that I was only going to apply oil paint. I felt as though this was familiar and I wanted to get a certain yellow color. I was unsure of what to mix as far as watercolor goes.. Thus the decision. Below you will see how the lines I placed onto the paper slowly begin to take shape…

LancasterCountMorning Join Pic 3.jpg

After The Use Of Sharpie Was Over ..

I moved onto applying my choice of oil paint. These, seen below, are the four oil paints I decided to use for this scene. The Jaune Indien is a bright shade of yellow that I will typically grab when I am looking to get that warm late day or early morn sun soaked feel. I will dilute it with Titanium White, as I did here, or apply it strait out of the tube.

IMG_0835.JPG

Here In These Three Pictures ..

I begin to apply the oil paint over the Sharpie Sketch. I prefer to start with the background and move my way forward. So I begin here with the sky and work my way forward/down. I mix a bit of white with the Jaune Indien color until I have achieved the color I am looking for. I wanted to lighten the sky up just a bit from the original photograph. I primarily use my finger to apply the paint to the surface. It may not be the right way, but it’s the way I prefer when painting skies.

LancasterCountMorning Join Pic 4.jpg

Now For The Black ..

I now have most of my surface covered with the yellow paint, with the exception of a few areas that will be painted with Ivory Black. In preparation to adding the black, I mix in a bit of the yellow in order for the black to take on an orange/yellow like warmth. I slowly and carefully apply this to the paper. Black paint is less forgiving than the yellow, so I want to limit the amount of boo-boo’s I make when applying it. Again, I use both my finger tip and a fine brush to apply it.

IMG_0841.JPG
()

It’s Really Just That Simple ..

I am almost complete with the piece. After a few more touches and adjustments to the sky, and a signature, I am finished. Very few items were used to create this painting, but the impact is just as satisfying as if I used much much more. Silhouette paintings are always fun to do and usually come out pretty good as long as I keep a good balance of color and black.

FinishcropLancasterCountyMorning.jpg

This Is My Messy Work Area ..

After I completed the painting. It took me about two hours from start to finish, including the pauses in order to grab a few progress shots and a sip or two of coffee! Even though in the back of my mind I know I don’t need a lot of paint to get this complete, I still place too much onto my palette. I like to use the small piece of glass that you see in the photo. It is perfect to carry around, move and work on, for a painting this size.

IMG_0845.JPG

In Summary ..

I Traveled to Lancaster County, I took a walk outdoors in the early hours of Thanksgiving morning, and found my inspiration for a painting. The beauty of a new dawning day had inspired me to create this latest painting of mine I am calling ‘Lancaster County Morning’. I Want to thank you for taking the time to read my post, enjoy the process and hopefully admire the end result. I had so much fun with this painting, that I can not wait to start another one. :-)

JoinPicture Lancaster County Morning.jpg

The Comparison Once More! ..

LancasterCountyMorning Join Pic 2.jpg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

This painting along with other works can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

OR

Make me an offer (in SBD) in the comments section of this post.

If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

Sort:  

[nTopaz-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks!!!!!! I am grateful for the continued support I receive from nTOPAZ. Thank you for recognizing my work @siamcat! :-)

That is really beautiful landscape painting, looking at your photograph and painting, I prefer painting that has more details and the beauty of sunset, last light over the sky. Like the idea of oil paints I believe with watercolor it would be a bit difficult to reach such satiety of colors and contrast between black and yellow. Like the way you explained your process and the thoughts throughout the work. Rally wonderfully presented work and beautiful final result.

Thank you so much for a wonderful comment @stef1 :-)

I believe with watercolor it would be a bit difficult to reach such satiety of colors and contrast between black and yellow.

You are on point here. I agree that it would not have turned out the way I had envisioned. I am glad I made the choice not to use watercolor. I also prefer the painting over the photo. Lots of people are saying that.. It's true. I like a little detail. Can't say I haven't painted one darker, but this one is not too bad.

Glad you stopped and I appreciate your support! Have a great day.

Wow your painting is not far from the original photo .. I liked this post very much has a lot of potential and is worthy of the reward it has received, see the whole process was wonderful and I really liked that you were explaining the whole process.

The pictures you took have a lot of quality, they look really good.

The yellow color of the sky is striking WONDERFUL

A big hug @bdmillergallery

Thank you @naideth for the nice comment. I guess I choose correctly in your eyes, when I chose this shade of yellow. Glad you enjoyed the process.. I need to get better at taking progress pictures more often :-)

Very nice, @bdmillergallery ! You definitely capture the dramatic lighting and moods of the scene <3 I am so amazed with your beautiful skills !!! The step by step explanation is very well presented, and I love how you annotate your thought processes with each stage <3 A gorgeous post !

Very lovely finished version, I love all the black / darker shapes in this one very much <3

Congrats on curie and nTopaz votes, as well <3

Those were very kind words :-) Thank you veryspider. You like the dark shapes but I had a few comments that the dark of the picture was too much or gloomy. Funny how everybody see beauty in different ways. Thanks for the support!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your support @c-squared community! Always appreciate it :-)

It's amazing how you created such painting with just a couple of colors. I like your inspiration as well and to be honest I think that your painting is much better than the photo :) You brought us the sunny morning how you saw it and now we can see it too :) It's beautiful.

It's cool that you are flexible with the techniques. And it shows that you are a very creative artist who knows what he is doing. I like that you paint with your fingers. How long does it take you to wash them afterwards? I can imagine that the color stick to them :)

Thank you for sharing! It's been nice to be part of your sunny morning in Lancaster County :)

Thanks for reading the post! I appreciate that very much. It definitely looked different as I was standing there. Sometimes when it comes to color..less is more. I am happy you saw my vision and agree that the use of just a few colors still created a visual impact.

Paint comes off pretty easy from my fingers with a little soap and water. Blues are the colors that can stain pretty quickly if you leave them on for a while. I try to wash up every 20 min or so. I like to try different styles and techniques, but not sure I have any clue what I am doing yet..lol. Being self taught, I seem to bounce around a lot more than those who have found a niche. I sort of like it this way though.

Thanks again for the support @delishtreats!

So the trick is to wash them up every 20 minutes :) When you talk about blue.. I remember when I was a child and we were picking up the blueberries and eating them straight from the container. They would squeeze between the fingers and we wouldn't be able to get the color off for a week or so :D

You're doing a very good job for being self taught :) Maybe you will find your niche over time too and if not you'll just do what you like :)

Have a good day!

You're doing a very good job for being self taught :) Maybe you will find your niche over time too and if not you'll just do what you like :)

Exactly what I was thinking!

Oh yes.. Blueberries. They do stain, don't they?! I really haven't found an oil paint of mine that stains to badly. Even the blue will come off with a little spirit. Probably not the best idea to have it on your hands..Who knows what kind of chemicals and stuff are in them.

Again.. Thank You for the encouragement!

Aaahh what wonderful arts! All of it, the photo, the ink, and the finished painting :D. I really like each one of them differently, they have their own unique charms and personalities.
                     
Congratulations for your curie and ntopaz votes ^_^.

Thanks @scrawly. It was a nice unexpected surprise to get this attention and support. :-D

I also enjoyed each step. I have a passion for photography as well. Darkroom equip and everything. I kind of let it go for a while. I take a photo and want to paint it all. Lol. The ink was cool. I think I may create an ink drawing soon using only the ink. We’ll see.

It is not to flatter you or something but your painting is better than yout reference photo. Why? Because the painting is livelier in spite of its gloomy mood. You made the sky brighter on the upper right side of the painting. The best improvement is with how you made the ground look like so and not just a pitch black shadow with that on the photo. Very good piece of art!

Exactly! yup.. that's why I lightened it up and changed that portion. I am glad you took notice :-) I don't like paintings that are too gloomy, yet I have painted several less than happy pieces. Guess it all depends on the mood I am in while creating.

Thank you for the support @macoolette!

I certainly like livelier aura than gloomy ones so I immediately notice these things specially with your painting that you put them side by side.

I have painted several less than happy pieces.

Why, are you moody? 😊

hehe..only sometimes. The weather affects my mood something terrible. MOST of my paintings are happy ones though!

That's good to know. Don't drown yourself in gloom. Be happy! 😊

I love how you have detailed your process along the way, it is very helpful to those wishing to learn how someone does something. I find people are always asking how I achieved something in my work.

The yellow turned out beautifully; very rich and warm, and if I do say so, your interpretation is so close to the photo but yet with the added detail in the forefront, so much better.

I have myself used watercolour, acrylic and coloured pencils, but one medium I have never tried is oils even though my mother and sister both used them.... I never thought to use them on paper, that was enlightening to me.

Thank you so much for showing your progress and sharing with us.

Thanks @thistle-rock! I am happy you enjoyed the post and my work. You should definitely try the oil on paper. This water color paper I am using, works well with the oil paint. It may be familiar enough to you that the transition is mild and not so frustrating. Try it and let me know how it goes.

My thoughts exactly on the forefront of this painting. I didn’t like all of the black and thought to myself, “self, this is an area that I want to change”. I could see the forefront in my mind bit the photo turned out so much darker. Good decision I suppose. :-D

Enjoy your day!

Maybe something wrong with my eye @bdmillergallery. Your drawing prettier than the photo. The yellow color very striking and i love how you applied to it. Even without color, the sketch with black pen already good enough to me. You took how long to complete this awesome piece? How I hope I have such talent like you. Unfortunately, I only know how to appreciate drawing but not an artist :P

lol. your too cute :-) very kind. I was considering just completing the pen version and not adding color, then I remembered that I really wanted to achieve that war yellow color of the first light of morning. So I added the color. I am glad you think the painting is prettier than the photo. That makes me very very happy!

Thanks for the support!

The yellow color of the first light you colored was very striking. It not easy to color a drawing with only 4 colors but with a beautiful results. Your pen and yellow color drawing gave me 2 different feel. How I hope you able to keep both of them hehehe.. You have other drawing posted in steemit?

Hello @oliviackl! Yes I have a bunch of paintings and such posted in Steemit. I am so happy that you appreciate my work. I wish I could of kept them both, but I had an idea and wanted to see it through.. If you are referencing the pen drawing vs the finished painting.

Thanks for the support!

Yaa i meant pen drawing vs color painting because i love both of the drawings. But your idea to paint it in yellow. It really beatiful, not easy to use one major color to paint the whole drawing and you have choose a beautiful color.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25