Stil life in dutch style

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

Today I want to tell & show you haw I painted this picture which I named "Russian still life in Dutch style". The article of drawing says about my intention to make a picture stylized as old Dutch painters.

Русский натюрморт_готовый.jpg

For reference I choosed my own photo of country summer lunch.
It's set of materials I painted: acrylic paints, syntetic brushes & medium for acrylic paints (to make their more wet on the paper).

Русский натюрморт_материалы.jpg

Sketch

Русский натюрморт_эскиз.jpg

As can be seen from the reference, the photo shows a white tablecloth and a light background.
I made them dark, mixing black and brown paint.
Then I addded some colors of brown are scarlet and canary yellow colors what a background was be not so smooth.
Yes, in process of drawing I slightly "lowered"a horizon line.

Русский натюрморт_1.jpg

I start my painting with the most difficult subjects - from a bouquet of flowers in a transparent vase and from the main dining dish - fish cutlets with fresh vegetables.
I used two green shades & bright yellow for painting a foliage; gray, avory & heavily diluted grassy green - for glass.
Cutlets I painted with brown, scarlet and two shades of yellow.
For a cucumbers I choosed grassy and light yellow paints, for lemon circles are light yellow and gray.

Русский натюрморт_2.jpg

Then I painted a dinner's dishes with mixof cobalt blue & gray.

Русский натюрморт_3.jpg

The samovar (a vessel for making russian tea), unfortunately, is not an old copper one, but a modern one from nickel-plated alloys.
Gray, black and ivory colors were great for it.

Русский натюрморт_4.jpg

Then I painted a shadows on dishes with mix of cobalt blue & brown - those parts that are closer to a table.
I apply glare in ivory color to have a matte gloss effect on porcelain.
Tomato juice is drawn with a mix of scarlet with two shades of yellow, a glass - with colors of gray, ivory and brown diluted with medium.
With the same colors as the juice and dishes, I draw a reflection in a side of the samovar's surface.
Above it is slightly I glazed with a very diluted gray to dim the brightness.
At the same stage, I put shadows under each object - with mix of brown and cobalt blue.

Русский натюрморт_5.jpg

Finally strokes: in the right plate are slices of fried potatoes with a green onion (scarlet, green, two shades of yellow and brown), wooden handles at tableware (yellow and brown), salad in the central cup (scarlet, two yellow and green), yellow and pink - little flowers.
And burgundy-red cranberry droplets in lemon slices.
I correct the contours of objects, and here is the result!

Русский натюрморт_готовый.jpg

Have a nice day!
Gera

Cross-post from Golos

Sort:  

Lovely still painting. Although the painting does not focus on perspective or realistic, the layout and color are really nice.

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very lovely still life, @daring-celt :) What makes a still life a "Dutch" style? I would like to learn :)

I really like the colours and how you painted the different textures of items in this piece, there is glass, and food stuff, and metallic drinking fountain and tissues, and each is conveyed nicely and clearly :)

Love the step by step presentation also ! Very thorough <3

@veryspider, thanks a lot!
It's so easy!
If You watch pictures of old dutch painters, You can see they used black or dark background for their still life pictures.
I decided to drawing like thay.
I think I did it.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Hello @daring-celt, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20