Adding more characters to my Singularity Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0I've added more to my current Singularity piece, sketching in more animals and details:

Here is the sketch without any colour with the bits I've added to my previous sketch.
march16sketch1.jpg

Same may remember this initial of the sketch

feb13sketch.jpg

And then I added in the second dog (at that point I was playing with purple for the ladies dress)
feb14dog.jpg

Adding these new details also involved playing with colour.

march16sketch2.jpg

And the Green of her dress, here just added with watercolour, has been decided.
march16thumbnail.jpg

As you will recall, the oil paint layers I've shared previously had me deciding to use Green on her dress to make the purple of the robotic hand pop, as seen here in the section of final oil on this piece.

feb28painting.jpg

As can be seen too, I added an apple to the piece and also more wires. I even changed her face and expression before going to final oil.

feb22thumbnail.jpg

I continue to add to my Singularity pieces

as I go along. It is part of the fun of the narrative for me. And the joy of painting digitally is having all layers preserved. So, even though I have my current canvas in paint and underpainting going on, I can close down layers and open up original sketching, as I did here, to add more to it.

The story continues with the Owl, the Chalice and the Pendant.

I like the richness of layers and more. I am surely NOT a minimalist when it comes to my Singularity series.

And having the luxury of hidden layers to call upon to improve or add to the initial sketch makes all the difference. In the old days, I would need to tape tissue paper over the painting (waiting for it to be dry) and try out new sketched bits before committing them to the canvas to build up layers.

Now I can use my initial sketch and add another layer of sketch over it. It's fun to make these little changes into gifs as well:

I have been struggling to get onto social media more of late.

I contribute it to the change in the weather and the feel of Spring. After my morning art time and my other duties to family, I cannot wait to get out and feel the sun on my face.

And on that note, I've a big list of to-doing today, so I shall close here and hope all have a lovely Saturday.

Feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.

My Previous Post: Are we fish in a tank? My watercolour and wonder at our Online lives

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

This is lovely!

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Wow........you are a very talented artist @donnadavisart I love your unique work and seeing how you develop towards the finished product.

I do love that ability with layers as well though I use them slightly differently. My sister uses them differently again as along with building up her pieces she also does kind of versioning on layers 😆

As I’ve said before it’s fun watching your pieces develop 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Isn't it nice @ryivhnn I love layers. There are so many things about digital approach to art that I love, Some bad mostly good. And since I tend to work pretty similar to real pencil/oil/watercolour etc, it seems even more magic to just think "Hmm, I'll just magically call up the sketch hidden under this painting and use it to add more to it."

Its looking great I love seeing as these pieces of art develop

Amazing art. Your sketching and coloring look so skillful. :) Did you learn painting by yourself?

Posted using Partiko iOS

No I studied both art history as well as fine arts at university and did post graduate work in art and printmaking as well. I have also painted and drawn since I could first hold a pencil :) Thanks for stopping by @itchyfeetdonica

So nice new characters you added! I love everything in this piece and I have to say the dog at the bottom who are watching the lady is simply fantastic! All the scene is really well done! ^_^

Thanks so much @silviabeneforti I'm really having fun with this piece. I'm looking forward to making a few of these this year, as it's like a fun way to 'write stories' but in one image that I build up :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Oooh, what a lovely painting! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75