A sketch, study & progress of a Singularity Piece

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A section of the initial study

The entire piece of the study

april8robot2.jpg

The sketch before colour
april8sketch.jpg

This sketch was made last year for a still in Progress Painting.

The piece is called Pandora

and in the narrative of this piece was the idea that one of our Singularity ladies came upon an 'ancient' piece of tech, the laptop, and being her own powersource was able to boot it. The idea being has she let loose the pestilence and ignorance of the last age that created her?

And will she close the programmes before Hope escapes as the real Pandora did.

This piece was set aside last year but also contains a setting and of course an animal as well, though he had not been conceived of yet at this early stage of the sketch/study.

He came in the next study:
april13pandorastudythumbnail.jpg

As is often the case with me, I try out things in a study and then when I start with digital oil I'll change it a bit. As in the case with giving the dog a sofa now rather than a chair.

I even imagined an interesting flying machine as part of this ongoing piece.

It was influenced in many ways by one of my favourite artists here on Steemit as well as in life @reinhard-schmid and his fantastical surreal machines in his paintings.
may16dogportionpainting.jpg

The painting was set aside as I had other things to get done. And as seems to be the case with these more involved surreal pieces of a post Singularity world, they are just an ongoing story line I return to. There is not time table or schedule for them. They are my go to pieces for fun.

As my black and white inks are my zen meditation

my Singularity work is that sort of 'novel' one likes to 'work' on for years at a time. A sort of place out of Time to return to and visit and add to and dream in.

It is raining here today which is rather fine

The sound of the rain on the roof makes me dream of England and also look forward to Spring.
I've a very busy Summer to move into with many things to try and juggle this year, but in order to cope I'll have my various art to return to. Though some of that will be work as well, continuing the work on my site and making more graphic pieces,

My Singularity work will remain a sort of creative touchstone to which I'll return to recharge.

  • Do any of you have a creative process that you use as a means of relaxation or escape?
  • Do you find if you have a skill that is also part of a job/occupation you still enjoy it outside of that framework?

I'll close now and give myself some time to come and visit those of you I can. I miss more Steemit time in the morning, but I'm still scheduling some of it in with my morning coffee.

I'll hopefully 'see' some of you in the comments later so by all means feel free to upvote, resteem, and of course comment.

My Previous Post: Sharing my previous Rat drawing to celebrate National Rat's Day, a day late...

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Oh so beautiful!!! great job Donna! like that dress :D


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks @melooo182 yes I love drawing dresses :

I like how this project is going Donna:) The colours look beautiful and you idea to connect the myth of Pandora with the tecnology is very smart. i would love to see how it will continue. I think a vintage style landscape but with flying mashines would look really cool:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks @georgeboya, currently I've got her in a decaying building/manse but it could change. As I said, it's an ongoing project or even a 'place' I like to go to get away.

I like the concept, it's so creative @donnadavisart! Her dress and face are also great! =)

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Thanks a lot @smeralda I'm pretty happy with it thus far.

It is so imaginative! She can boot herself alone. Wonderful idea. I have seen robot so many times in the movie. But I have never think robot can do like that. And this is a ongoing project? I am so curious about your final version of this. If finished, please show us ^^ Thank you ~~

Thanks @trueimagine yes I liked the idea that she having a power source could find and indavertently release data virus into the post Singularity world.

I have a few paintings I have been playing with in this series where I imagine a world After the Singularity of man and machine merging and what comes after the machines calculate that the 'improvement' to man kind is to remove the human from the equation, only those merged with the machines are left wondering where they came from.

I like so much this Pandora. The ancient time and the modern era are really well composed in this piece. (Ps: I love the style ofher dress ^_^ )

Thank you @silviabeneforti one of my favourite times of the Victorian era is the 1870s-1880s which had the bustle low on the dress and then rising into the full bustle by the end of the 1880's. I'm always inspired by fabric and dresses :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Good job on this! and I really like seeing the black and white line work , it has a lot of life to it, before and after the coloring

Thanks @arseniclullaby I love sketching first. This 'world' has been a fun place to escape to occasionally when I've other pressing things to finish or get to in my real life.

I think the title Pandora is perfect for this piece and such cool details right down to her robotic features

Yes, I think approaching a few classical tropes for the series will be fun, the melding of a classical approach to a post modern ideal, we'll see how they all turn out @tattoodjay or even what I will want to do with them when they are all done, however many there shall be in the series.

I think it so cool how you do series in different styles or mixes of styles

This is an interesting piece. I wonder if she gains more from the book she holds or the laptop. The doggo that is chilling on the couch is a nice addition :).

Well, @scrawly I like to think that both are leading her to understand where she comes from and what she is. I'm assuming it's 100s of years since the human were removed from the equation and the hybrid upgraded humans/machines are trying to understand what they are, so the books and the computers of old would lead to the path to knowing what humans were, at least in my storyline anyway :)

Oh dear poor thing, curiousity can be bad sometimes 😆

You’re eventually going to get sick of me blathering on about how I love watching your pieces develop 😝

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll never get sick of that @ryivhnn I wish I had more time to just work on this series actually, but I'm coming into my busiest part of my year, so it's good to escape to them sometimes even if I just get an hour in the morning to paint in the pleats on a dress :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69