Pulled in 2 directions contemplating Digital Life

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A bit of one of my Singularity pieces

More of the piece, as of yet still unfinished:
aug20head.jpg

Another section of that painting Work in Progress
aug13full.jpg

I even got to the point that this much of the canvas was filled:
sept30painting.jpg

This section of this same painting seemed such a painting in and of itself, I even cropped and and used it as a finished piece on things and also as a limited edition piece as a digital art piece on my makersplace page with art tied to the blockchain

sept7thumbnail.jpg

Having not posted in now three days I am feeling very behind and a bit perplexed.

As some of you may know my year has sort of turned upside down a bit. I had to return from England earlier than planned (was meant to be first of April) due to a family members illness. Add to this not being in my own place still, but trying to continue to steal studio time has left me feeling torn in two directions.

A dichotomy of desires is rather normal for me.

I always seem to be torn in such decisions. When I focus on a bit of my life I am often heading down two paths at once. Today's post was meant to show that my love of more 'finer art paintings' as my Singularity series is, really pulls me in. Yet, rather than merely focusing on that I also have to continue with my more decorative pieces which are popular on things like shirts and housewares.

How I wish sometimes I was an artist with One distinct style that I could merely address each day.

In fact, that was really meant to be this years New Year's Art resolution: One Style, One Focus in art.

My favourite saying I often share is If you want to make God laugh Make a Plan

but I wonder if my own feeling of division is outside sources or merely my own innate subconscious desire for this dichotomy.

In many ways, my love of Steemit both saved my art focus but also created this dichotomy

It was finding Steemit that gave me a renewed joy of being online (I was about to just unplug completely and slip into the background before finding it). Yet, it also sparked in me an old lost love of more larger painterly pieces heavy in narrative, my Singularity work.

Prior to that I was happily creating my animal series in a somewhat unifed style, but becoming annoyed with social media in general. Then finding Steemit gave me renewed hope for the online life and it also sparked this new painting joy.

The problem it has created however is this pull of what I am meant to focus on.

I now find myself feeling more scattered in wondering if I should continue to try and make a place for both avenues of art to discover: The more painterly pseduo realistic world of the Singularity/19th century paintings or the flat and decorative designs of animals and colour? Add to that my own joy of finding black and white drawings again and it's really more of a tertiary problem; If it is even a problem at all.

So, here I find myself making a post about not sure which direction to go, feeling a bit behind and yet finding it hard to go forward as too many paths appear there.

I wonder, sometimes, if online Life is part of that problem.

It both opens things up for us and gives us great opportunities as artists to both connect with people as well as clients, yet it also gives us a sort of anxious feeling that is very much programmed into it.

There is no doubt that social media is designed to give a carrot on a string feeling.

It is openly talked about now in media how Facebook and their ilk purposely planned it to be that way. It is interesting that this only 'came out' now that we are all far into it to really reconsider any other way.

I don't want to seem to be complaining about a thing that has given me a platform to sell art and meet other wonderful artists.

But, as someone who always seems to be pulled in two directions I seem to be more susceptible to it of late.

I suppose I am longing for a streamline way of Thought and Action.

A more laser focused approach to creating and displaying that would fit more neatly into a day.

If anyone has any ideas how to go about finding that, please give me a hint.

Until then, I'll have to deal with unfinished paintings and random decorative pieces interjected with black and white drawings. Even this pull of things has left my other social media platforms wanting as I am not 'keeping up' as I am meant to, again

the "carrot on a stick" or the "hamster wheel" we all find ourselves on.

I hope your day is more focused than mine and that you can find

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that your year started so turbulently. I do admit that I love all your pieces but I do miss your black and whites. This was something was somehow naturally linked your name to certain type of art.

You are so creative that I'm not surprised that you're confused. Your head must be bursting with ideas and you can't focus on one thing as there is a new idea waiting for you already.

I have no idea how to find a way out of it but I would say that maybe meditation could help you focus? But I'm not sure as I was never able to meditate myself. It's so difficult to keep all my thoughts outside of my mind and relax :)

@delishtreats thanks so much and it is SO true. I want to do many styles and I have far too many ideas for one, so I do more and then feel more pulled in many directions.

I Love my b/w and funny you should mention meditation as in many ways my b/w are a sort of meditative state for myself. I have thought of just going b/w for awhile, but then I LOVE colour so much and playing with colour, so then back to square one.

I think once I have a good 'talk with myself' maybe I can better focus.

Beautiful portrait!

[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

[nTopaz Curator]

Wonderful painting Donna. I relate to EVERY single word.

Perhaps in expressing the dilemma ~ Something will start to clarify.

Like you, I have so many off-shoots happening and I often wonder how to bring them all together. But I wonder if that's necessary?

I used to feel that artists with the laser focus produced finer work. But I don't think this holds any more.

I know time is a limiting factor but as much as possible go for them all ~ Your painting, illustration and black and whites are all fabulous and will have different appeal to different people and markets. And as you continue you'll get a feeling for which areas to put more energy into. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

⚖️ S H I N E ⚖️ Y O U R ⚖️ L I G H T ⚖️
JOIN nTOPAZ DISCORD

It is true that each of these avenues could do well together, it's just my own focus with each day. Once I can get back to having my entire day to arrange it might be different, but when I've only the morning to work, it might feel more productive, or actually BE more productive if I was just the 'black and white girl' or 'that artist that makes animals in chairs' as then it is that 'thing' I know to do and have the freedom within it to do it.

Of course, nothing is stopping me from simply ONLY doing one style, nothing except myself...and my indecisive decision making that always has me travelling two roads at once. Such a faulty habit I have in many things, not just art.

I'm hoping to resolve it this year, though, as it is literally my ONE resolution for the year!

If you can do all you are doing with only half a day. Imagine what you will do when you have full days. You're not Libran are you? ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

No, I'm a Scorpio. I was raised by a Gemini and am married to one, so my pull in two directions constantly I blame on them ;)

Well, that would make sense too. So it's just me with a Libran nature to blame. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Dear @donnadavisart, we appreciate your constant participation and we respect your great artworks. I would like to inform you that repost of artworks previously uploaded to nTopaz are not allowed. Previous Post: Click here

His artworks exalt our platform. Thanks! 💙


You want to learn more about nTOPAZ ?
Follow @ntopaz to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Introduction to nTOPAZ · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

This was when I was first trying out @ntopaz tag @smeralda and I simply chose one of my pieces. This post, which does include that same image, goes on to show more of the WIP of this same piece as well as discuss an artists point of view in the current digital climate.

I am assuming the post was not read or claiming I simply reposted would have been obviously seen as not the case. Considering what I was discussing in this post, maybe I'll reconsider using the @ntopaz tag. Sorry for the 'offense'.

Dear @donnadavisart, my comment is informative. I reiterate, we respect your artworks. Oh Don't worry, it's not an offense, I only inform you of our policies. You are always welcome in nTopaz. 🤗

Ok sorry @smeralda I've just been extra sensitive of late.

I comment on a lot of art posts and often notice this "struggle for style." It's hard to step back from your own art and see it. Other people will see your unique voice even when you feel scattered.

At this point, social media is the place to spread the word about your talent and this is a gift artists did not have in the past. At least now you can get it out there and people will look at your work. in the past you would struggle alone.

"If you want to make God laugh Make a Plan" I believe in this completely and feel the upshot of it daily. But we have no choice but to carry on and see where we will end up. It will not be where we planned. It will be where we are supposed to be :)

@fitinfun so true. I think once things settle down for me, I'll be back to a good stream of work. In some ways it IS forcing me to hone my ideas for the coming year simply out of necessity.

I always have this love/hate with social media. It has made it possible for me to sell in a way I prefer, rather than the old system of gallery and shows and putting things in shops, which I am an introvert so I hated shows! But, it also seems to be constant and I have to shut it off for part of the day or I go crazy, but then when I turn it back on again in the morning there is that little feeling of 'oh no, I'm behind' which is just part of the beast of it.

Steemit definitely saved me from unplugging from it however, so that is good.

I know what you write about, the confusion, feeling of lack of focus..I know that so well...sometimes I take a break, a deep breath and I ask myself Now what ? what do you want ? Is it more clarity ? more ease ? more joy ? more well being ? and then I listen to my feelings...sometimes I feel I do too much things to avoid doing some others, but then I understand that the feeling of culpability that comes with that is only because I think I SHOULD do some things, instead of doing the things I like..;which is never true 😊 Doing what we love is the main piece of our being, it is what we came for, for the joy of the life, for the ease, for the abundance...
So I decide to align with my inner being when I feel I go in too many directions at the same time and I allow myself to have many desires and to satisfy them in the perfect timing....
and then it is no more important if I do one day traditional, another day digital, one painting, a drawing, a coloring page, some clay modeling, trying new paintings on new support, etc ... What is important is to feel good at the moment I am doing it...this become the only important thing to check...😊 😉

This is very true @barbara-orenya and honestly as I do feel the pull between the various styles IS why I do them, yet this year (possibly because of being busy in other ways) It isn't bringing me the same joy it once did.

I also know that is isn't all joy. I'm realistic to know that it is also a job and that a job is not always joyful or pleasant, but when I feel like that, on certain days, is when I wish the focus was more honed, if that makes any sense.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Did it ever occur that possibly the dichotomy is the very thing that drives the genius? That being pulled prevents stale on either form?

I haven't posted in a week. I'd like to feel real guilty (instead of modestly guilty) but I really don't. I've been busy and productive (after a fashion) and that's all I can really hope for. A no post week simply means that there will be a 6 post week coming.

I have this life theory that life is just pretty much as it should be, and what I'm doing to influence that is just what I need. If nothing else it's a pretty easy excuse :)

I hope you find the peace you are looking for. At least some of it. I really like your variation...

Hmm @bigtom13 that is a possibility. However, it would be nice to just focus on one element, but I've only myself to blame for that lack of focus.

It is true that 'life is as it should be' really and it is a great way to look at things. I am usually more zen about Life, but lately have just been feeling this anxious pull in different directions, so I want to blame social media when it's really my own self /life evaluation, but in a way that's good. I can look and dissect and decide what is the best direction to go in. And hopefully I'll choose ONE direction and not three :)

I have already noticed your skills in Yorkies post. Your are great and I really like your style.
Congratulations and Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome😊👍
...but I am @moncia90 and I am a man...😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh tee hee, sorry, early morning just drinking coffee so, yeah I'll correct that :) @moncia90 I wonder if there IS a @monica90 who is like, "What is this girl talking about?" ;)

Yep!😁✌️
Have a nice day!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my gosh Donna.. I feel like you are reading my mind or something. So so so true.. All Of It! This is also where my mind is at at this point. I am glad to see this wonderful post.. She is quite the character. She emits a powerful "I'm Awesome and your not" sort of vibe. I like it!!

It does seem a problem many an artist faces @bdmillergallery. At least I've no problem with not having inspiration to create, but having far TOO many ideas can be also sort of crippling sometimes in creation.

Yes! I have been known to just procrastinate from creating in order to avoid making a decision. Rather I should just flip a coin to make the decision on what to create. Also with this new platform, steemit and nTOPAZ, I find I spent too much time socializing and posting my creations rather than actually creating. I enjoy both entirely too much to cut back on either. So frustrating. I’m glad I’m not alone. Best of luck to you! I will see you around soon!

I am that way as well @bdmillergallery and then, as I've been to busy dealing with family things, I've not time for either and then feel guilty about it. Oh well, silly emotions. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87