FIREFIGHT FOR VELOUSIA

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Hi all! This is my entry into the NTOPAZ Futuristic Cyber Art Contest. I was made aware of the contest a few days ago by @georgeboya and thought I'd give it a try.

This work was created using DAZ Studio and the LG07 Combat Mech model, as well as, a few Photoshop Brushes from the Deviney collection, also found at DAZ3D.com. All images and videos created with DAZ products are considered the sole property of the artists that use them. Special licenses must be obtained for models to be used in Video Games and other Media that allows access to the model itself.

The following is a quick breakdown of the work:

As always, I begin the process with DAZ Studio to create the character and the foreground. At least some of it, in order to bring the model into the image with a little more believability.

ma.jpg

mb.jpg

Once I've created the main pieces and render them, I take the rendered image into my image editor (Pixelmator) where I begin to play with the colour, paint in detail, and bring the piece to life.

m1.jpg

As you can see, the main render wasn't bad, but too clean and bright. So, I decided to use a combination of image layers to create a dark, black and white style image with just a hint of colour. I also created a dark silhouette of the render and blurred with gaussian to create a dark outline behind the Mech that would serve to pop the image from the background.

m2.jpg

Now is the time to add the background image I got with the Deviney Apocalypse brushes, make black and white, blur, then add in some smoke and a moon effect.

m3.jpg

It was coming along, but the image seems to be separated in very strong elements. That's where a little painting comes in, to bring the picture together as one unit. From here I have some fun. Here is a gif showing the transformation:

Webp.netgifmaker.gif

That leads us to the final image: "Firefight For Velousia"

Sharesizemech.jpg

And there you have it. Hope you like the image, and thanks for looking. Have a great day!

If you cannot see breakdown images, visit: https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@dutybound/ntopaz--dutybound--1379994597--ntopaz-art-supdork-fantasy-character--2019-07-11-13-41-23--artwork--none

Sort:  

Hello welcome to ntopaz and the contest. I could not welcome you to the community a few days ago ... But I'm glad that my partner invited.

A really incredible and inspiring entry, the work process is phenomenal, I'm really excited to see this! that was the purpose of the contest to be able to appreciate works of other artists with a subject that I like a lot. I'm glad you participated. I hope to see your other two tickets! You have a few days yet.

Some mistakes occur when publishing, if you have any doubt you can ask us, also in the Discord you can get answers.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks! Glad I was told about NTOPAZ. Community is great and I love contests, lol. The errors don't bother me, even though they can be a little irritating at times, I can always find a work around.

Super cool design:) I am a huge fan of combat mechs because i used to play Warhammer 40k, a scifi strategy tabletop game. The mech looks very impressive and the presentation was very detailed and enjoyable. good luck with the contest:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks! Glad you liked it. Nothing like a good old fashion Mech battle!

Very cool piece, @dutybound :) Love the composition ! And it's nice to see the step by step explanation for this work, as well :)

Good luck with the contest !

Thanks! Glad you liked it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

it's great!!! and what happened to that girl???? from the other image you were working on - did i miss that final image?

those machines (in the pic above) always freak me out hahahahaa they are kinda like robots but sentient too since people are inside them. gahhhhhhhh they terrify me hahahahaa

nice job on the art - as ALWAYS :)

Sorry I took so long to respond.... I had a glitch in the posting that removed the main image from Steeemit and Steempeak. Tried to fix and it did all kinds of stuff to NTOPAZ. Finally, after almost an hour, I think all posts show main image. lol. Anyway, thanks! I decided to go with something different, maybe return to the one you saw sometime later. I think this one turned out okay, though. Maybe a little dark, but not bad.

Awwwww...I loved the look on that girl's face!!! Hehehe

Please return to her! She was badass! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.

Awesome! Thanks!

Looks pretty dope. Daz stuff can look great if one knows how to render. I dig the animated gif in your breakdown.

Thanks! Been using DAZ stuff and other tools for a long time now. When it goes right, you can get some cool looking work out of it. Especially if you do some post editing. I try to include those gifs now with my work, other than video, it really helps show the process. Glad you liked it.

What tool are you using to create the gifs? I'd like to show process better.

Posted using Partiko Android

http://gifmaker.org/
Using this right now, free and no download required.

Good the image that you started and better still the result with the elements that you gave him, adding effects of action, movement and plot; pretty good the result, I would have liked it to have more color as any action figure.

Thanks! Yeah, came out a little dark, and I've been having issues with the main image of post, causing a bit of pixelization. But, hope to have fixed soon. Otherwise, I like how it turned out.

For some reason, I couldn't add the breakdown images to this post. So, for full breakdown with images, please visit:

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@dutybound/ntopaz--dutybound--1379994597--ntopaz-art-supdork-fantasy-character--2019-07-11-13-41-23--artwork--none

Awesome! Thanks!

The platform can be a little problematic sometimes and does not accept gifs yet. Better to upload the first photo and the add more by editing the post at steemit. This is what i do:)

Thanks,... I tried, but it didn't like it too much. I did get everything working right now I think. Oh, well, least it worked out in the end. lol.

I really hope you will post again😊 Do it the way I described, its a nice simple way 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I will. Thanks for the heads up on the contest and the help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79