[CR]Wuxia alchemy, a personalized illustration

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4I've never showed this illustration over here; this illustration has an interesting backstory. It is my first comission. Someone liked my drawings so much to the point it wanted to gave an oportunity to draw something personalized.
I show here in order: Final piece, B/W Process, original sketch ideas, second rough sketch, compilatory GIF of the process. (in case gif could shown)
Media used: Paint tool sai & Photoshop.

This piece was kind difficult, mostly for the amounts of elements. I painted first a grayscale version for define the lights and the shadows as I wanted, after that, I gave it colors. From grayscale to colors is a technique I have use before so I wanted to keep in safe territory as I could. I wanted to assure to give to my client a piece as close to his expectations.

I think this is one the most difficult piece I have done, after the "Light's wrath".

This piece belongs to @faffy and @/Andrien.


Other places where you can find me:

InstagramTwitterKo-Fi Steemit

if you are interested in a commission from me, drop me a message in my social medias for talking further details and stuffs.

Sort:  

Love your sketch ideas, the final artwork is amazing. Thanks for sharing your professional art process

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you a lot. I made various ideas for have more options to go in case other didn't get approved.

Perfect result of quite a long process!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

I took some time, yes. Thank you! 😃

Beautiful art @faffy <3 :D


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you ! 😃

It is a great result, it has many elements that complement the illustration.
It is full of magic.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I wanted to pop up the elements as much as I could but still in a dark place. Thank you very much for the comment! 😃

Ancient China has so many stories in it. You express one of those. Mysterious treasurable fantasy-like illustration. So good to appreciate. Drew ancient China, you borrowed western painting style. It is impressive. East and west get together in this. Contrast composition are perfect. The light of this is so shining for the man. Astonishing ~

Thank you very much for the kind comment!

IMG_-grwrui.jpg

I still dont know what makes my style "western" but it is not the first time someone tell me that, it makes me curious. Thank so much for passing by. 😃


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.

woooho thank you very much! 😄

It's nice when someone really likes what we do, so much so that they just want to pay us for creating what we want, isn't it? :D An amazing client and commission, to be sure, @faffy :D !!!

I really like how you are passionate about this piece, I can tell from the various ideas that you had drawn that it was quite a journey for you to find what the picture really had wanted itself to look like :)

Sometimes we HAVE to keep working and trying out different compositions in order to arrive to what the picture needed to be, and I think you presented a very nice picture of a wuxia alchemist at the end :D I liked that you pulled the alchemist off a desk and made him to work on the ground ... it feels 'right' :D :D :D

Really like the step by step process that you shared here, too, and I love the way you did the lighting. Two different lighting sources are difficult, but you did pretty well, I think... :D

Also, his expression is so nicely done! You can tell the concentration well :)

Thank you very much for the comment!

IMG_20190411_030220.jpg

Yes, Andrien was very patient and specific with what he wanted. It feels very reconfortant to find someone who actually like what you do, I felt speechless and blessed in some way. I found also stuffs where I'm not so good enough and I practice that too, it teaches a lot.

Congratulations @faffy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very interesting work, @faffy! Excellent effect on the light coming out from the magic cauldron!

Thank you very much! 😊 The cauldron was very important, I painted a lot around it.
I'm glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84