Alienian Mercenary - Original Character Desing

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)
ntopaz-image-0


FUTURISTIC CYBER ART CONTEST, it is almost a dream to participate in a contest with such a beautiful theme to make art, I read the description of it and could not help but fall in love with the selection of films that showed as examples (Terminator, Ready Player One, Im a Legend ...) I love science fiction, is a wonderful escape into the future and what better than draw on it so let's get to work!

The character I have created is not very new to say, since I started designing it when I started the Character Design Contest, right here in @ntopaz, those who have followed my art for some time know that I am terrible to finish the drawings before the end of the contests, but there is nothing to worry about, because this new contest came to me like a ring to the finger, because it fits perfectly with my Mercenary Alien.

I have something great in mind for my second entry - pray with me that I can finish it before the deadline!

Tools:

  • Medibang Paint
  • Mouse

-Step 1:

My planning was focused on designing a character, that's all, so bam! I started tracing a body in the middle of the canvas, trying to respect the proportions a bit of course.

ntopaz-image-1

-Step 2:

With the sketch as a guide, I proceeded to mold the character with the greys (I was lazy to do the delineation) and I was still thinking that more add to the character, because as you can see, some elements are completely different from what I sketched before.

ntopaz-image-2 ntopaz-image-3

-Step 3:

Let's detail! The purpose of designing in gray scale, is to give volume to the character, leaving behind the flat illustrations to get closer to realism or 3D (although I lack much practice to get to that point, but here I go). As for the weapon, I took it apart to design it correctly, since until now I only had a very big and coarse gun, but using the squares and alignment tools, I was able to get a more attractive and better structured weapon.

ntopaz-image-4 ntopaz-image-5

-Step 4:

At last it's time to color, using the mode of fusion " overlay " take some colors and apply them on the skin and the suit of our alien, although I immediately regretted those tones and technically inverted them, passing a little green to the suit and taking the blue to the skin, is the great advantage of digital art, you can make immediate corrections without ruining your work.

ntopaz-image-6 ntopaz-image-7

-Step 5:

The final touches, according to the images I show you, there are no big changes from one image to another, but you would be surprised with the amount of things I added and then undo while designing the character, my big dilemma was always, do I stick to what I already have or do I add more objects to it? But I decided to stick to the original design, but playing with the lighting, based on the reflection of neon lights at a distance, it is essential to have that lighting in futuristic science fiction, also, do not forget the layer with torn fabric.

ntopaz-image-8 ntopaz-image-9

I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

Copyright @hadley4

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

It looks amazing and thank you for the detailed presentation:) i hope you make it in time and post the 2 more entries, good luck:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you! although the contest is over and I'm going to half illustration, but soon will be here :D

Hi hadley4,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh, thank you so much for your support, it makes me very happy.

Oh when I saw cyber ark contest on ntopaz.com, i was wondering what is cyber art now I understand what it is. I love the creature your created - nice body shape :P I would like to see him in real life and stare a little and then run away :P nicely done and congrats on your curie vote :)

The cyber art is great, because you can let your imagination fly and create new futuristic technologies and new ways of life that coexist with humans, also the essential thing is to create weapons that fire many lights haha.

haha yes and also the chance to create something that has not existed anywhere except your imagination


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you guys!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.

Me encanta que te guste mucho el tema, compartimos ese gusto! sin duda alguna esas películas son geniales y por supuesto muy inspiradoras! Que bueno que pudiste aprovechar a este personaje, es grandioso! Poder ver el paso a paso es genial, es como ver el nacimiento de tu obra. Me gustan mucho los detalles y lo que hiciste con las texturas de la piel. Si que tiene cara de mercenario, no quisiera toparme con él ni por equivocación.

Gracias @yanes94!! creo que estare haciendo unos cuantos dibujos mas relacionados al tema, asi que preparate :D

ehy dear @hadley4, so beautiful work! it's so incredible what you can do with new technologies! I like to sell the whole drawing process because it's like being in your mind, great details, maybe I would have given it more vivid colors.
do you do it for work or for passion? have you studied art or are you self-taught?
by the way congratulation !! :-))

I've always liked to show it step by step, because I feel it inspires others and shows them that it's not that hard to make art. I draw by passion and hobby, since I was a child I have had some skill for it and I have improved it on my own. Thanks for stopping by and admiring my art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79