Spitting Image | Acrylic Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0



Spitting Image
Acrylic on Canvas
60 x 60 cm
2019




I have been experimenting with different styles to find my own sense of identity in art. This work was inspired by Jean-Michel Basquiat of the Neo-Expressionism movement. I find the colors and the strokes interesting. Vigorous emotions across the canvas attract me the most.

The process of this one is similar to the Light and Shade series that I did a few months back. I did it spontaneously - that is, without planning the colors or sketch before doing it. If I plan things, there is a big chance of me overthinking. So, I did it to ease my anxiety.

I let the emotions flow. Spreading the paint without worrying I will screw it up. I enjoyed doing this as I felt I was going back to my childhood with the use of colors and the cartoony stuff.


Concept

I've always had this thinking that I have two persons inside my physical body. One is the real me in the real world, and the other is the traumatized self who is always beside me wherever I go. No, I don't see it nor imagine it, but you know that feeling that you are not alone and that there is always someone out there protecting you? I thought it was my angel. But I prefer to think it as my other self who always look out for me to protect me from potential dangers. (Hypervigilance, yeah)

The vibrant colors are there to show that I have befriended the other self. Acceptance was the hardest thing I did. So yeah, whatever.



Here are the close-up pics in case you are lazy to zoom:



detail3.jpg




detail1.jpg




detail2.jpg





If you want to share your interpretations of my work, I am interested to hear them!


And yes, that is my real artist signature

Sort:  

I love the spontaneity in your work @hiddenblade and the strokes and colors, I think we all feel sometimes that we have someone in our head, or will it be that I'm going crazy? XD


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you! I think we all do have, and we talk to ourselves all the time. But I don't know if all of us have that another person with a different personality inside of us - someone that is a separate person from us. lol

[nTopaz Curator]

Love the beautiful detail of the eye and how it contrasts with the vigorous and colourful work in the rest of your painting @hiddenblade.

Yes, I know that feeling of not being totally alone even when you are just by yourself: A presence that we can ask to be with us and help and guide us. And even when we are not aware of this presence it is still there looking out for us.

♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Your work has been recognized by the nTopaz Curation Team for its excellent quality and its enrichment to our community. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

⚖️ S H I N E ⚖️ Y O U R ⚖️ L I G H T ⚖️
JOIN nTOPAZ DISCORD

Thank you Alison and nTopaz! :D

If you want to share your interpretations of my work, I am interested to hear them!

On the right: divinity, providence. On the left: thinking, feeling, sensing, human.

Your divinity may feel gagged but never harmed. It's vibrant and growing.

The two will slide back inside each other as soon as we look away.


🤷🤷🤷 ::shruggy:: that's what I see

Divine with a human soul.

That's a deep analysis, Droo! I'm not sure about divinity, but perfectionism might be the perfect term for that. You know that feeling when you expect a lot from yourself and that you want to be near-perfect in all you do.. So like you think high of yourself but then again we are humans and we feel a lot of emotions and that we can never achieve being perfect.. So yah.

The two will slide back inside each other as soon as we look away.

That makes sense too. Like pretending everything is fine and that you live with your own expectations then become "yourself" when you're alone.

Thank you for that!

That's a deep analysis, Droo!

😁🤔😎🧐

I'm not sure about divinity, but perfectionism might be the perfect term for that.

Ya that might be it! And ya I know what you mean.. divinity is almost like super powers.. but perfectionism is more human and realistic, just trying to be your best. 👍

That makes sense too. Like pretending everything is fine and that you live with your own expectations then become "yourself" when you're alone.

I like it.. will think more on that 🤔🤔🧐

I love all the expressions and possibilities ,,, art is so sick

Dear Hiddenblade, it is very cool that you made friends with your Alter Ego, together you can do quite unusual things as this is a surge of new ideas for your creativity and art. I like the combination of these colors. I really like your idea and the meaning that you put into your work! It is beautiful, unusual and made with soul. Thank you very much! <3

Thank you! Yeah, made with soul. Perfect words to describe this! :D

Este post ha sido votado por @celfmagazine. Un proyecto de curación y revista digital de arte y cultura.

This post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine. A curation project and digital art and culture magazine.

discord_server_celffacebook_page_celffacebook_page_celf

Congratulations @hiddenblade! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It really screams Basquiat, i like him very much and you made an amazing work:)

It means so much coming from a Basquiat fan. Thank you!

Amazing as always. While reading your concept for this all I could do is picture you taking some sort of double exposure photo with you next to you with different looks. I guess I am just more use to your genius in photos.

Haha thanks! I love it when my works are still associated with myself even though they aren't the exact representation of me.

👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi! @hiddenblade. Your post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine, please consider supporting us to win a delegation of 20,000 STEEM POWER. You just have to follow the instructions below:

Go to the following link: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/ login with your Steemit account and password and vote for @celfmagazine.

Your support it's very important for us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29