Game Character Hair

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5ntopaz-image-6ntopaz-image-7ntopaz-image-8ntopaz-image-9Not too long ago, I enrolled into CGMA's class Hair Creation for Games (https://www.cgmasteracademy.com/courses/48-hair-creation-for-games) taught by Johan Lithvall. The class was great, and I learned a lot in terms of having a very linear, easy to understand and methodic workflow for game hair.
This is the Final asset I made during the class, it is 28.000 tris with a 4kx2k texture and is rendered with Unreal Engine.
The hair cards are made with Xgen, Baked in Xnormal and then placed in Maya.
it was quite something getting your mind wrapped around doing hair like this, but I am glad it turned out like it did.

This was feautered on 80 level in an interview article where I talk a bit more about the process, give some tips and tricks and a bit about the course.
by now quite a few people have used my article as reference to help them make their own hair, and it makes me so happy that people can use it.
You can check out the article over here https://80.lv/articles/004adk-005cg-cgma-student-project-voluminous-hair/

Sort:  

What a good technique you did, very good tricks you learned and today you offer it on the platform, I really like the shape, geometry and color of the hair, very original for appearances in video games, on all those who try to strategies, would be perfect for an elf. Congratulations on this incredible work, it was great.

Congratulations

Thanks a lot nathyortiz! I am glad you like it

Wow! Very good result! I would like to see the effect when she moves.
Why don't you create the hair in Maya? The fur effect is not good enough?

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Yeah it would be awesome, but this wasn't rigged so the day it moves will sadly never come.
I did create it in maya using Xgen and then baking that result down to a texture on a plane inside of Xnormal.
But since it is made for games, I can't use the same hair in maya that they do in films, since it is way too taxing on the system ^^.

Yes, you are right! Hair in game doesn't need to be so realistic like film.

Posted using Partiko Android

i dont have the knowledge to understand how you design them but the result is looking really beautiful:) Great post presentation, i think other digital artists will find it valuable:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks man! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello Jeffhh! It's a very nice hair, you're right it's perfect for a game character. I like very much! It reminds me of Lagerttha one of the characters of Vikings. Thanks for sharing!

I see that you only use a label for your publications, you can use 4 more to be seen by other communities. Example: palnet, art, odc-resteem, artzone. These are some. Excuse the audacity, it's just advice. :)

I actually did use lagertha quite a lot for refence because she has got all those crazy cool hair styles in vikings. so it is nice that shines through.

ahhh I think I completely missed out on that one, thanks a lot for pointing that out to me!

Yes! As soon as I saw your hairstyle, I remembered her (she's an amazing character ..) the hairstyles are great, her hair was amazing and in 3D it's even better! How long did it take you to do your hair?

You are welcome! It's a pleasure to help! I think it would be much better if you could get 4 more tags, besides #ntopaz

I took quite a while as this was really the first time where I sat down and wanted to make some actually great looking hair. I guess a few days?
It also took a bit longer as I was learning at the same time ^^

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.

Congratulations @jeffhh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17