Will You Be My Gal Pal

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Amanduur_galpal.jpg

I drew this fanart image for my friend Amanduur who is a popular webcomic artist. The characters are from a project she has yet to release. You can read her other work on Tapastic. Her stories feature romantic comedy and genre satire.

Process

Base Sketch

I started this piece off with a gesture drawing that I fleshed out. I have been focusing a lot on movement and flow in my pieces. I generally have issues with stiffness in my figures so I've been working on keeping things more relaxed and loose.

Amanduur_galpal3.jpg

Lineart

I did a quick sketchy lineart over the base sketch in photoshop. I define the details and features of the characters in a general sense. I tweak and liquify a lot at this stage in photoshop.

amanda_galpal_lines.jpg

Base colors and shading

I start by coloring under the lines and just blocking out shapes. At this stage, I normally determine my light source and the pallet I am going to use. I messily shade each part of the drawing, skin, clothes, etc. before moving onto the final rendering stage. I do all my coloring in Clip Studio Paint because I like the brush handling in that program. Photoshop is nice for sketching and tweaking drawings, but I personally really dislike photoshop's lack of effective built-in blending.

Amanduur_galpal1.jpg

Painting and Rendering

For full illustrations, I merge color and line layers and then paint on top. This is the stage where I really refine details like facial features, folds, hair, etc. I usually tweak contrast and really deepen where the shadows are.

Amanduur_galpal.jpg

Follow Me

Patreon Instagram Tumblr

Sort:  
The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

The pose is very convincing for the expression and the colours are nicely done :D.

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a lovely couple ! I love the colours and the composition very much, @kytcordell !! They seem to be very interesting characters :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27