Art can help to heal

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0They say art can help to heal, and even as a non artist I often feel that way when I do my acrylic pour.
DSC_2752.JPG

This week a friend came to stay for a few days. She couldn't have come at a worst time because it rained two out of the three days. I know she hasn't been too happy recently, so on one of the rainy days when we were stranded indoors I asked if she wanted to try some acrylic pour. She is much more artistically talented than me, which to be honest, isn't that difficult, but joking aside, some people just have the natural talent. She has seen some acrylic pour videos before but never tried it. I set up everything for her, and briefly told her how it works. I didn't want to be too directive as I think art, especially abstract art should be free from boundaries.

DSC_2746.JPG

I gave her some cardboard paper to do a practice pour as you really need to get a feel first. Then I gave her two old record players to pour on. She used mainly blue and grey as her prime colours, and I was thinking, maybe this is a reflection of her mood.

DSC_2778.JPG

DSC_2777.JPG

These are her two pours. I noticed she had her own method and logic as if she wanted to say something. I didn't ask her what it meant as I think that's personal to her, but I'm pretty sure she had embedded her feelings in there.

She seemed a bit more relaxed after the session, maybe art does help to heal.


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Wow it does looks fun, have never try this before. I'm suck at art, just don't know why

You're artistic with your candle collection! How's that going?

Just met my printing suppliers to finalize selection paper then the next 2 weeks will be about 4th prototype and hopefully by end of August/early of September,​ I can print bulk my packaging. Meanwhile, am doing my website hehe

Those are cool... Art does soothe the soul.... :)
I see yellow flowers in a field of grey, indeed there's Hope yet

hopefully the yellow flowers will cover the field of grey soon

Yes... one day...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

She does seem like she has a lot of natural talent and a .... sense of sending her own message through her creations... I like both pours. There's some feelings in them that feels as if there's vulnerability in her....

only she will know

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.071 which ranks you at #1076 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 42.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @livinguktaiwan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14