LUT Studio #14 Purple Wave

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

This is the first time I have attempted to do a pull string feather.

ntopaz-image-0

Before I start, let me show you what I did beforehand. Everytime I start acryclic painting, I spend at least ten to fifteen minutes mixing the paint. A lot of artist enjoy this stage, but I prefer to jump right in and start creating. The other day I bought some squeezy bottles and pre mixed a few colours. This saves me not having to mix my paint every time, and I won't have the problem of mixing too much or not enough during each session. In fact, I think just having all these bright bottles side by side at my work space looks very colourful.
v3vdt6wdvg.jpg

Anyway back to my creation today. Making pull string feather is very simple (in theory). I started off making two. You just need to place a short piece of string on the canvas, and pull downwards making a U shape with the string. Then place the string at the same postion and pull the opposite direction.
ntopaz-image-2

In this photo, I have done the first two feathers. You'll notice that the feather is a bit 'fat'. I think I didn't pull the string towards itself enough, ie the U shape when pulling was too big. This resulted in the feather being too wide. Also, when I placed the string on the canvas, it was a bit too curved, feathers are normally straighter.
ntopaz-image-3

Since I'm a beginner and amateur, I had not planned in advance what my crreation would be like. Afterall, this is my playground, and the ojective is to have fun and not too many rules. So I decided to do two more pulls. I placed one piece of string at the end of the two feathers to do a third feather, and a second piece of string on top of the feathers to do an abstract shape.
ntopaz-image-4

I ended up doing one half of the third feather as I didn't want it to cover up my first two feathers. And for the final pull, I swished it around and finished it off by pulling it around the first two feathers. It wasn't quite the feathers I had in mind. But I got something else.
ntopaz-image-5

Purple Wave.
ntopaz-image-0

LUT, in my playground

Sort:  

I am a big fan of this technique.The first time i saw it was from you video and it really took me by surprise:) I think you can do a lot of complicated artworks, having multiple colours, playing with shapes. It is very interesting and i think i will try it also myself when i have time in the future:)

You're very right there, acrylic painting is so versatile. I'm still trying out all the different techniques at the moment to get a feel of things, that's why everything is still in a mess.

I hope you do try it some time, it is very relaxing as well.

Looks really good, very simple yet powerful brush strokes create the waves :D
great job!


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks, it was a bit of an unexpected wave, just show how much things can change during the process

Wow how the line can be so vivid like this! Wonderful! We can feel the power of the unintended lines. So smoothly painted. Compositionally good as well. Astonishing! Show us more ~~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks for your encouragement! Really appreciate it

This technique I had not seen ... and I can notice that you have to be careful, have a pulse, you are dominating it pretty well!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks a lot, still have a lot to learn as I have only just started. I'm please to be able to share my learning journey with everyone.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @lut-studio! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by livinguktaiwan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81