Southermost Tip of Africa!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ntopaz5 years ago

IMG_6525.JPG

Marian at the extreme southern tip of the African continent!

First off, apologies for not posting yesterday but we were travelling all day. I have a trove of treasure photographs to show you once we get back home tomorrow and in the coming days.
For now, this will have to do as I have just selected a few photos to whet your appetite, and as you can see I am posting this on my laptop, so the posts may appear a bit different to my usual style. As I normally work on my PC.

This is where the Indian and the Atlantic Oceans meet, at the Southern tip of Africa. L'Agulhas.

IMG_6549.JPG

This is a model of the African continent and the steel plate in the foreground serves as an arrow to show you where we are on the continent.

IMG_6547.JPG

This Lighthouse was erected at the tip of African in 1849!

IMG_6745.JPG

This old shipwreck's captain obviously didn't see the lighthouse. Maybe he was drinking?

IMG_6682 (2).JPG

First time for me to see this on the horizon, and I don't know what it is!

IMG_6726.JPG

Look at this lovely loving couple enjoying the late afternoon sun!

IMG_6748.JPG

The laughing guy must have farted, as the three guys behind him don't look too impressed!

IMG_6834.JPG

I tried to get the reflection of the shipwreck in the water!

IMG_6856.JPG

And then it's time to say goodbye for now!

As I said, we did a lot of travelling yesterday and we will do a lot again tomorrow when we return; but hopefully, by late afternoon I will be back on my PC at home, and then I can show you some more detailed stuff about this wonderful place. Two of our friends invited us here, as they live in the area, and the place where they stay is on a Peninsula that stretches into the ocean.
The weather was very good when we arrived, but today it is windy and cold and cloudy.

Unfortunately, I don't have Discord on this laptop and I also don't have any post-footers to place on this post, but I am sure that nobody would mind as the quality content of the post is more important.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

NOTE: We humbly ask all of our friends to support this post in our absence, and I promise to take care of all the replies and return votes as soon as we return.

Blessings to all!

Sort:  

Stunning pics. My home town Cape Town is a stunning place to visit. Hope you had a wonderful stay in South Africa. Will look out for pic updates. Safe travel home. 😊

Thank you my friend.
We live in South Africa and have recently relocated from Johannesburg to the Western Cape Province.
Papillon charity is now working here in the poor rural areas.
Blessings!

Enjoy WC. Continue the good work. We do need more giving souls. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I must say you have enjoyed your overall day... That old rustic ship is really fascinating?? May be ghost ship which come into life at full moon night?? Who knows... Hahaha... Love that place ... Thank you for sharing...

Hahaha, in that case I wouldn't want to work in the lighthouse nearby, as the ghosts can turn the lights off Lol.
Thank you for the visit my friend.
Blessings!

Hahahaha... Ya better stay safe.. :P

That must have been a very awesome visit! It is certainly nothing I'll personally be able to visit, so getting a virtual tour was terrific. Great shipwreck too! I like to think that the shipwreck is the demarcation between the Indian and Atlantic ocean's.

Thank you my friend and the wreck lies about 200 meters to the right of the actual point. It was a Japanese ship and the miles of coastline is littered with wrecks.
I have posted the sunrise over there today, as we are back home now, but I took enough photos for a few future posts.
Hope you have a great weekend.
Blessings!

Most Southern point of Africa, how cool. Can’t wait to see more. I had to privilege to visit the most Eastern point of America, so I know how you guys must’ve felt, I can see on Marion’s face. Amazing feeling, right?

Thank you and certainly a great feeling my friend.
I have already posted the sunrise there today and will post some interesting stuff in the next few days.
Hope you have a good weekend.
Blessings!

Such an interesting and funny article:) Amazing photos as always:)

Glad that you liked it my friend.
Thank you for the kind visit.
Have a great weekend!
Blessings!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

An amazing place to see two oceans meet! How interesting to know that You are standing on the southernmost point of the African continent.
Lighthouse and broken ship give a very vivid idea of the remoteness and mystery of this place. I envy You,@papilloncharity, it must be a very interesting journey and look forward to more photos and interesting stories about it :))

Thank you my friend and it was indeed a great experience. To know that this was the very last piece of earth on the African continent and the history of the place was so very interesting.
I am sure that you will enjoy the new post today and a few more to come.
Have a great weekend!
Blessings!

aahh I was just wondering where are you all so busy, travelling,, hmm hmm. enjoy, will wait to see those loads of great pictures :)

wow beautiful photographs sir specially that last one golden sky with sun looks awesome in this photograph. Nice post. thanks for share with us.

Hi Sir, hope you are well. It is a beautiful sky with all the golden colors. So warm and welcoming! Have a good day. Blessings...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.

@Helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month's UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00