[CR] The Alphabet Amigurumi Project Continues

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0

Last week, I started working on a project for my little daughter that will help both of us learn something from. I started with just three letters but throughout the entire week following that, I slowly worked the alphabet with each letter showing more and more improvement as I go.

I'm actually starting to realize that I may be learning more from this than her. While crocheting, I would see her go from one toy to another and when she finds the amigurumi letters, she would come to me and brag how she knows what the letter is. And everytime she sees that I'm almost done with one letter, she would eagerly await until I've cut all the strings and I hand it over to her. After which she would exclaim what letter it is. She would then ask me to go ahead and make the next letter for her. Though she wouldn't sit by my side while I work on it. (She found out that it takes a lot of time and I timed her attention span, it only lasts for six minutes).

Anyways, as I moved on from one letter to another, I can see more and more improvement with my stitch. It is indeed true that constant correct practice makes perfect. Although I'm still far away from perfection, I can see that I am a lot farther from where I came from.

The tension I have in my hand towards the string and the crochet hook starts to even out now. I observed that the HDCs I make are now more level to each other than from when I started. So as you know, the first letters are the worst. I promised to redo letters A, B, and C once I'm done with letter Z.

Also, as I continue, the instructions that did not make sense to me at the beginning starts to have more meaning to me. I really am that kind of learner. I would have to read so that I'll have at least 70% to 80% of understanding but there are still some parts of the lesson that will only make sense to me once I experienced it and made sense to me as I go.

Also, I found an interesting post on twitter. Well, it was shared through facebook in one of those crochet groups I joined a couple of days ago.

In Ireland, it's said that you leave a bit of your soul trapped in everything you crochet. So to avoid this, you should always work in a hidden mistake so that your soul can escape...

It's a good thing I always have a lot of mistakes when I crochet. Most of the times it's just my laziness that stops me from frogging, but at least now, I have another excuse to just ignore the mistake and move forward. :D

Sort:  

I love this! I am currently teaching my fourth child his alphabets! Normally I use flash cards and videos at this level but I really love these nice sized physical letters that you can touch. I think my son would love learning with these.

(sighing about another project I want to do with very limited time in my life 🙄)

This is something I need to make time for. I have read crochet diagrams before but I would have to touch up on my knowledge of the symbols . Thank you for providing the links in your previous post about these. Your letters are looking good!! I laughed out loud about your daughter’s six minute attentions span! 😄 It’s so funny how kids are. I’m glad she is enjoying them! Way to go mommy!!! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

I tried the flash cards, it turns out she loves crayons more than the letters. It turned out as an artwork and a pile pf crumbles pieces of abused papers. We also tried the alphabet chart, I couldn't get her to sit in one spot too long with her attention span and all. Haha

But I think this amigurumi is really working for her. She's enjoying the fluffiness but she can't crumple them or write on them. Maybe she'll surprise me one day with how she's going to destroy these but I hope to finish the alphabet first before she ever thinks of her destruction method.

I did enjoy the symbols and the graphs and all. I think I'm ready for the next projects lined up for the next months. I do hope we all get more than 24 hours a day. There's just too much stuff to do and too little time to finish them all up. I feel you.

😂 you are so funny!

but I hope to finish the alphabet first before she ever thinks of her destruction method.

That is hilarious! That’s a good point that these are harder to destruct lol! My son does okay with the cards but I know he would love these letters. I can see him walking around with them holding them as he says their names lol!

Congratulations @romeskie! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

These are so cool!!! I think they all look great - A, B, and C too! I admire this project - that's very time consuming!

Ang Galing ng mga letters mo! They are crochetiful !

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.818 which ranks you at #13174 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28