[CR] Needleworkmonday | Alphabet Amigurumi

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0I have made it a point to make sure that I learn something new in my crocheting journey. Last week, I learned the starburst crochet. For this week, or might I say, this month, I learned how to do an amigurumi design. Several amigurumi designs actually.

Since I am new with the word amigurumi, I made a quick tour to the wikipedia page to look up what it's about. It said there that it roots from the words ami which means crocheted or knitted and nuigurumi which means stuffed doll. I looked up amigurumi designs online and I found a cute Picachu doll. Picachu is my favorite Pokemon. I actually had a collection which I needed to give up when I needed to move to a smaller apartment before. I am still feeling bad for giving up the collection but I made a promise to make an amigurumi Picachu once I'm done with my current project.

Moving back to the project I'm working on right now, I am currently teaching my kid how to read. She already knows the alphabet but she keeps on switching up the letters. So I bought her a little whiteboard, a whiteboard marker and eraser. The only problem is she is more fond of erasing the letters I write on the board than actually reading them.

Then I found this in one of the crochet groups I joined in Facebook. At first I was hesitant and I thought I might not be able to understand the pattern but aside from the meaning of the word amigurumi, I also learned a few crochet symbols. I found this as well and so far, I have used and understood I think four symbols from the chart. So YAY! A lot of new learnings in this project. I learn, she learns. Win-win!

I am actually making really really slow progress on this one but I don't want to rush it like I did the letter B. It did not curve the way it should on some sides but I'm glad my daughter still knows it's letter B. Letter A was a lot easier. I'm having the same curving troubles with letter C. I think I may not be following the instructions very clearly but I know I'll figure this out. One letter at a time. I'm two letters down, almost done with letter C, so I hope before the end of the month, I'll be able to complete the alphabet.
I had a few fabric scraps from my sewing projects from before. I did not want to throw them away like garbage but I did not know what to do with them. This amigurumi project was the answer. So I just cut them to even smaller pieces so I can stuff them on the amigurumi. et voila! Recycling! Anyways, tomorrow's gonna be a new day. I should be finished with the Letter C and will go ahead and work with letter D right away. My daughter's getting a bit too familiar with letters A and B so I got to up my game a little bit.
Sort:  

It would be great if you can make words "Ntopaz". Great job anyway!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Once I complete the whole alphabet, I surely would post that.

Thanks. :)

Hehe, you've set yourself a task there!
Please comment on my post if you want a free raffle share.

I kinda did, didn't I. Haha. Well, good luck to me.

You look good, Make those letters is an excellent idea for your daughter to learn to read, so she can combine the letters as you want and the best thing is that they are durable, they will not break. Weaving is a very nice and relaxing activity. Congratulations.

Yes it is indeed relaxing. My daughter loves the letters and is actually excited whenever I hold the yarn and crochet needles. :)

Hi, @romeskie I recommend that you are not using the crop feature. When you upload a content, you can see it. Of course, It doesn't work. So, please, don't mind the feature 😂

※ Great work!

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.827 which ranks you at #13095 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 77 places in the last three days (old rank 13018).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh noo I feel you, I also like Pikachu very much and a soft crochet version would be so cute. Perhaps one you will have again a bit more space for cute little yellow fellows.
And the letters are amazing. I am much too impatient for amigurumi and admire everyone who can do it.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25