The Fennel Bird (oil painting on paper)

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Today I fineshed another illustration for the project about the wild plants in my area and I'm happy to share this new one with you!

This piece is about the Foeniculum vulgare, best known as Fennel, a plant that I love so much because I use it often as aromatic herb when I cook the chestnuts. Fennel  is in the carrot family and it has little  yellow flowers that looks like a sort of umbrella. ^_^

It's a very common plant here in my area (in the center of Italy) and, cause the taste similar to the anise, is an ingredient of absinthe too.


According to my friend Cecilia (I'm painting these illustrations for one of her project about herbs) I painted this plant with a bird, who represent the element "Air". 

It's an oil painting on 200 gsm paper in A4 size and I hope you like it ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Very beautiful Silvia!!! :D :D :D


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks so much ^_^

Oh, the birds looks so cute and balances so well on the slim plant:) I think i know the plant, we have it in Greece also but i do not rember the name...the umbrella reminds me of sth like a name, or a nickname:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Here in Italy we call it "finocchio", I think you can find also in Greece, but not close to the sea. Here we caan find it in the fields. ^_^

Oh today is not a man, today is a bird:)) Bird with a leaves in it is so impressive. Simply drawn, smoothly imbued. So cute to be with bird :)) Thank you for sharing. I will stay tuned ~~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

Yes, today it was time for a bird, but I'll paint some men soon ^_^

Such a cutie...

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Beautiful little bird, like your Oil painting style, you create nice calm atmosphere and set your character in scene. Nicely done!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks a lot ^_^

I like this bird, you need to do something like a type on three sheets or two, so that it would not be lonely)
I like the way you handle oil.
I'm afraid to try to paint with oil paint. I tried acrylic, it is difficult for me. Now I can do watercolor painting best of all)
Have a good mood!

I think oil colors are the best color to start painting, but not on paper, it's better to start on canvas because if you paint something wrong you can correct ^^ Using oils on paper is similar to watercolor, to correct the mistakes is not simple ^^

Cute plump bird, reminds me of an albino robin.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the little bird sitting on the plant. I plant this in my garden for the Swallowtail butterflies to lay their eggs on and of course, I save the seeds for flavoring some dishes I make. I love this herb.

I love it too! I like to use the seed to cook chestnut ^_^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very adorable, Silvia :) I really love this one, the bird looks plump and beautiful, the contrast between its pale feathers and dark eyes makes this bird carry an air of innocence :)

Fennels are very beautiful plants but they are considered weed here in Australia, hahaha.... I love the yellow flowers of this plant, though, they are very pretty :) And yes, it really brings a certain flavour when used in cooking :)

Very nice picture, @silviabeneforti <3

I also look forward to seeing your Diane Arbus' piece's completion :D !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04