Thinking about a poem by Mandelstam

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday my hubby @paolobeneforti talked to me about the russian poet Osip Emilyevich Mandelstam (1891-1938). His personal story touched my heart and reading some of his poems, his words became images in my mind. My hubby started to work on a short graphic novel about his poems and I decided to use some sentences from one of his poem to exercise my hands making an illustration.


The poem I chose is titled "Rooms" and in the sentences I decided to use to inspire my art, the poet talk about the black earth that become a weapon in his voice, while he's feeling himself a sort of giant.

In the pics you can see the mixed media painting on paper (watercolors and ink) and the book where I find that poem and the page whre there is the pem in the original language (Russian) and in italian too (my mother language".

I didn't find an english version of it, sorry.


I hope you appreciate this study on a touching poem.

See ya soon


Silvia

silvia beneforti


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Well, that's so creative of you. You were able to pick some words from your hubby's poem to create yours.

It is great to get your inspiration from something that made such emotional impact like that poetry book.. Luckily it is in both languages and you can understand what it is about. I like your painting and such yellow-grey colors of painting :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great idea, and two creative souls in one place make great things. I love this illustration of yours Silvia. Simple and touching, making you think, that's point of illustration. It would be great to see your illustrations in your husband book or novel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25