10 (completely different) drawings in pen!

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5ntopaz-image-6ntopaz-image-7ntopaz-image-8ntopaz-image-9Hey Steemians! (Gotta say, it's a highlight of my day to write y'all. Starting to feel at home here).... I know you're used to my art being so fucking colorful that it melts your eyeballs... but in a pleasant way... Most people call it vibrant. So, since I love contrast (between subject and negative space, between individual colors, between straight and curved lines, and I'm sure I can fill a whole post to just the different kinds of contrast that one can use) - I thought I would also use contrast in what I show. That said, here's 10 drawings that a)are non-digital b)are without color.

They are in the order that I created them.

Oh yeah! Almost forgot- It's pretty easy to stay in a routine... And I've wanted to work on my drawing (vs. painting) skills - in my art, I often just jump in with the brushes, and make changes on the fly. It's not that one approach is better than the other, but... I do think that there are times when knowing exactly what you're going to create. In fact, I should probably be doing much more of this now - especially since the techniques I'm doing these days tend to be much more technically advanced - so... really, by doing the work up front (on the concept), I'm saving time on doing the work (on the final 2D / 3D creation processes). The thing that got me out of my painting routine, for 31 days, was Inktober.

Inktober happens every year (this was my first year participating) - it is a group challenge. There are "Prompts" - subject ideas for you to interpret however you feel like. Here are the prompts for 2018 (when these are from):

The cool thing is that there are many subgroups of people that have made their own prompts... Witches, Fairies, Foods, etc... Since it was my first year, I just went with the regular prompts.

There's a Facebook group, and you just post each day. It's really cool / fun to see what everyone comes up with... How the interpretations differ, the different ways that people use ink (some people use pens, others use ink with a brush, there's people who use colored inks, etc...) - and of course , different skill levels. I recommend you try it as well- there's many amateurs, many pros, and it's all about getting people drawing.

I'm proudest of #1 for idea (Poisonous --- What's more poisonous than a scorpion with a 45 calibre?

Make sure to follow, 'cause there's a sequel to this... Two actually... (And of course, all the other cool art / adventures that I share).

Sort:  

i saw the first and burst out laughing :) loved this!

THAT is when I know I put my spin on something, correctly. There's many times when I think on things as "What can I do to own this?" - and it's usually mischievous humor. I think the perfect example is my Wizard of Oz theme: https://steemit.com/artzone/@theartofori/the-wizard-of-oz-the-mischief-that-is-my-brain-art-that-s-going-to-make-you-smile

mischievious humor is da best!

oh i missed that post! you seem very obsessed with the WOZ. i dont remember that monkey tho...or the broompole dancin witches hmmm ;)

Nah.... I'm not obsessed with WOZ. I was invited to paint live at the San Diego Fair, the theme was OzSome -- so... I needed to have some Oz painting. I did watch just about every show / movie there is on WOZ to get through all these paintings.. Inspiration, etc.... I wrote it in one post (thought it was the Oz post) -- that "Themes" tend to bring out what my take on things is. I gotta tell you, I've got a lot of respect for that movie though -- considering when it's from, the effects/story/execution are amazing.

aha! theme explains it. ya it is a classic.. surprised it hasnt spawned more remakes

oh, it had a shitload of 'em! I watched 'em all! :)

Thank you theartofori! You've just received an upvote of 41% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Fun sketches. I love the second one. The 6th one made me laugh..I feel like that sometimes.
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Cool to see sketches from you! And inktober 2018 was a great fun in Steemit ! Lots of people participated :D

I look forward to Inktober 2019, for sure :D :D :D

Ooh! Bet it was awesome on here. I"m still new to here. FB still takes most of my time... but I definitely spend way more time writing out posts here. I"ll definitely post my Inktober 2019 stuff here.

I think I'd call these drawings rather than sketches. I think a sketch is more of the guide to a drawing. One evolves into the other. At least, that's my view.

Inktober was tough -- scary - 'cause I went out of my comfort zone (which is always a good thing, and often scary)... 'cause I wasn't in my zone of mastery. I spent tens of thousands of hours in digital painting... not in Pencil / pen. So I took the opportunity to do a month of it. I was thinking of keeping it going.... But, it's easy to go back to what you are used to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30