Helping a friend grieve a loss of his best friend.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0A buddy of mine posted a 17 minute long video yesterday which expressed his thoughts on this, the most difficult day of his life... The day he had to put down his best friend of 14 years. His friend was his miniature schnauzer named Indy. The video was heart breaking enough... but, the part that really tore me up was when he described the day he got Indy.... He said Indy fit in his hand, and... "I wish I had a photo of this. I am pretty sure that I had one, and it breaks my heart that I can't find it." - Well...I don't have access to his old photos, but I was able to sneak around his FB profile, find some photos of the dog when he is much older, and make this painting.

The painting has a lot more detail than you see here, since it's 24"x30". It's scary to post a painting of someone's dog when they just passed. You never know how someone will react- especially since I post it publicly (I put the hours in - worked on it for 2 days, and need to post something for my daily art). He sent me back a video, saying it made his day.

I've surprised friends before when people or pets have passed.... Not everyone's ready to see a painting. Some are comforted by the fact that their special someone has been immortalized. One girl asked me to delete my post (despite that I didn't tag her on it) -- she didn't want anyone to know her father had died.

Another friend was grateful, but wasn't ready to have it on his wall- that came 2 years later, and he still couldn't hang it up... it was still too paintful. More time had passed, and now he says that painting is his prized posession.

I kind of specialize in dog art- despite that you see me posting everything else.

It was also scary to create this because I don't have reference of what his dog looked like as a puppy - I had to look at his dog's photos, and guess what he looked like as a puppy. Funny story-- I got the ears wrong... I gave him the same ears that he had as an adult - which, turned out perfect, because he only had floppy ears for a very short time, and he had giant perky ears the rest of the time... My friend told me that they were his hallmark, he looked like a little rabbit. So-- that's a cool thing about art- I did not get the 6 week old picture correct.... but it turned out better that way, because I gave him the trait that he was known for his whole life.

This friend, who just saw on FB the painting I made him, messaged me back and said "I'm ready for that! I want that on my wall!" - so... glad I put my fears aside.

Sort:  

Muy hermoso tu pintura, se ve muy tierna. Amo a los perros me encanta la forma en que ellos transmiten todo su amor hacia nosotros, muchas veces se hacen dueños de todo nuestro ser y hacen que vivamos la vida junto a ellos. La historia que cuentas es realmente encantadora y triste por otro lado, considero que en la vida todos tenemos una oportunidad de oro y debemos aprovecharla. Dios bendiga tu arte y la manera en que le llegas a las personas a mantener sus recuerdos activos y con mucho amor.

Saludos.

Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras. Realmente lo aprecio. Todo este trato con perros que pasan me ha recordado que extraño tener un perro. Han pasado 11 años desde mi último. Son muy mágicos Tengo una gran vida, pero me falta un perro. Hurra por Google Translate ... y si mis oraciones se leen graciosas, culpo a Google Translate.

You did a couple amazing jobs; helping friend with painting and sharing the arts work. keep your creative work.

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

I appreciate the kind words

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful art style and color. And this artwork is invaluable as it's a great and meaningful gift !

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

I had the opportunity to do something similar for someone a little while back. Their chocolate lab of 16 years had passed away so I pieced something together from a few half decent photos to get a nice pose and to be sure I had the features right. I can imagine it's good to have something that will live on to memorialize these animals long after their gone. I've been thinking about my own two labs lately and how they're getting up there in age. Sadly, they'll have their own paintings eventually - hopefully not for a few more years, though.

Made a painting for my little bro's dog when he passed... Made one (retroactively) of my dog that passed (since-- why paint everyone else's dogs and not honor my own?), Haven't had a dog since 2008... Really want to... but, I value my zany freedom - same reason I don't have a kid, I suppose. i've come to accept that dog-painting (and human painting) is a gift... because in a sense, you help those that pass live on forever... they are immortalized as art. Now, that said... it certainly helps to have talent-- as you clearly do. Nobody wants to have a shitty painting on their wall forever.. that kind of tarnishes the memory of the loved ones, despite the best intentions. Your lab painting is spectacular. I love the velvety effect of the fur... And that you leveraged many photos to create the one image... I too do that, and am shocked at how many artists only replicate the image that they are given. Wow, 16 years is a lot of great memories.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks for the @helpiecake @helpie! I really appreciate it. I thought this piece, more than many of mine were worthy of some cake, or a @curie - but it felt a bit invisible... But you saved the day. Thank you.

Thank you theartofori! You've just received an upvote of 12% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello @theartofori, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15