The Broken Robot(The Robot That Dropped His Beer)

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Finished image:
ntopaz-image-0

This is one of those rare images where I have an idea beforehand, and make it. Initially, it was going to be a robot that looks friendly, and drinks beer, and had too much... so is falling apart - his hand that holds his beer fell off. So, that's what I made a painting of:
ntopaz-image-3

For those who didn't read my intro, or my other contest entry, I should add again that I grew up on Sci-Fi, and spent hundreds of hours staring at my dad's Sci-Fi books / magazines before I could even read them. Another thing in my intro: I've been creating a new work of art every single day since April 21, 2012. Part of the reason why I do that is to keep improving. Thus, when I saw my painting, I thought I could do better.

The final image is what I'd consider a painting, but... really, it's a composite (meaning it's part painting, part 3D).

From the initial painting, I tried to make a friendly robot in 3D. I thought it looked too blocky....
ntopaz-image-4

So, forget the overly friendly looking robot, let's go high tech. Here is what the scene looks like in 3D.
ntopaz-image-1

Here's an initial test render (Rendering is the process of going from 3D to a finished render. An image where all your materials, textures, lighting, shadows, reflections, etc... are calculated.
ntopaz-image-5

I kept working on it.

Then in Photoshop I painted the sparks, the glows, etc.... And of course, I gave it more dramatic lighting from above to emphasize the subject.

ntopaz-image-0

Sort:  

I feel a little sad about the poor robot, just wanted a beer:) Cool artwork, i liked all the versions:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Don't worry @georgeboya ! I can fix him and give him a 6 pack, if it will cheer you up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Incredible work, this composition is very original, I have liked each one of your works. I'm waiting for more of your work, I'm sure you'll invade the science fiction platform, welcome to the platform.

I invite you to join our channel of discord, there we will help you with any question you may have, you can also visit the channel #profile-completion. There you will receive 100 topaz tokens when you complete your profile 100%.

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines [EN][KR][ES]
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Thanks for the kind words. I've got a LOT of practice (2,638 days and counting). I certainly hope to keep improving, and earning your likes on my posts.

Thanks for the additional info on the discord / topaz tokens. There sure is a lot to learn in this Steemit world.

Have completed my profile and submitted it in the Discord

Hey! Here you are! Fantastic to appreciate another entry of yours. Unfortunately your robot had a very bad time, he dropped his beer (that's unforgivable) and his arm broke, what else could happen to him ?. I really like the final result, all those sparks on the arm and the brightness that is reflected by the light you have placed on top of it. The robot and what it means is great! :) What I liked is also the color you have chosen and the atmosphere that you have given at the end. That completes your proposal and gives an incredible turn.

3D is something I have never used but I would be happy to be able to do something there someday (even if it's a ball). Seeing his step by step are like lessons, he has had several changes.

Regards!

Yes, too bad, so sad... for the robot... that he lost his beer. I might repair him in another painting... we'll see.... But it should be known that I don't just make happy paintings. I find immense beauty in exploring all emotions. Sadness and Anger are some extremely beautiful emotions. Have you seen the movie "Requiem For A Dream" ? It leaves one sad, and wanting to hide all sharp items in the house ... but it's such a beautiful story, such a well made film. While it's not the only standard by which to judge a work of art, I do think that if a painting makes you feel something, that it is true art.... I think if I were to remake it to be more powerful, I'd have the robot reaching for his other hand (the one on the ground), with tears of oil coming out of his eyes.... He's on all 4's, mourning the loss of his hand / beer.... Perhaps a strong story about how he lost his hand, and why beer was so special to him (perhaps it keeps his human owner from being mean), and this was the last beer that he could find..... and now it's broken, and there is no hope. --- now, before anyone gets sad, a reminder, I also paint really happy stuff :) --- I was just running with an idea here.

I've used many 3D tools over the years. I used to want to be a 3D animator, as I grew up watching cartoons, and that's the primary way that I learned English when we got to the USA (from Israel) on my 9th birthday. Cartoons have gotten really great over the years--- Have you seen Rick and Morty (there's a perfect example of sci-fi, happy / sad show)? If not, you should check it out.... It's epic, and really strong on the sci-fi front. My primary 3D modelling tool these days is Zbrush, but I hear amazing things about Blender (Which is free). You should try it, because you can make a sphere just by pushing a button... thus, you will have accomplished your goal of someday making some 3d, even if just a sphere.

the final version doesnt even have the beer bottle anymore hahahah.... nice picture, Ori :) very sci fi !!!!

Yeah. As the image progressed, it got more serious. I'll create an alcoholic robot in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.

Good.. I lik it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04