Hugging a Child.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0I just got back from a long journey (Mexico -> San Fran -> Austin -> San Fran -> Mexico) - I drove 10 hours from Mexico to the Bay Area, flew to Austin & back to SFO, then drove back down. I went to visit family. My younger brother in Austin, my parents in the bay area... and.... most importantly- to welcome my older brother & my niece from their 2 years abroad.

My brother took a year in Israel, and a year in Rome - so that my niece can experience growing up in the places that he & his husband grew up. I haven't seen any of them for 2 years, so I wanted to be there to welcome them back to the USA.

While this isn't a painting of my niece, the experience of seeing her reminded me of this painting, so that's the one I'm sharing. I didn't want to put her down when hugging her. She's changed so much in the last 2 years, and she's such a bundle of joy. She's perfectly fluent in Hebrew and Italian now.

I think I'd like to have a kid. of my own... but... I don't think it will happen.. I like my freedom too much (for example, I can just drop what I'm doing, and go on a trip to the bay area and Austin on a whim :) ).... But I think this painting kind of captures that feeling of hugging, and not wanting to let go.

Also make sure to check out yesterday's post - It has a moving story.

Sort:  

Thank you theartofori! You've just received an upvote of 24% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02