An Abstract Nude

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0There's not always a fancy story about where a painting came from.... I create art every day (over 2,660 days now) - many pieces take longer than a day to do, others I get done in a day... but regardless of how long it takes, a piece has to end up as something... Many times I don't know what I'll paint - but.... I'm in it for mastery. One thing that I can never practice enough, and I have not mastered yet (to the degree which I'd like) is the human form....

People are tough to paint / sculpt. Why? Well... there's complexity to us --- many pieces that twist and turn, and they change form as they do... The skull alone has 22 bones! But, regardless of Complexity, the reason it is hard to paint/sculpt a human is that we all know exactly what a person looks like... we see oe in the mirror every single day. So, if there is something wrong, people can tell. They may not know what specifically is wrong... Just that something is off.

That said, if ever I need to make art, and I don't have an idea or a client piece, I often paint the human form (coincidentally, that often translates to naked women).

There is another thing that I try to master... though, I'm not sure mastery is the word here... It's more of discover than master. That thing is my style. What is the style that I shall be known for? You'd think after a few thousand pieces I'd know, but... I don't I'm not sure that there will ever be one, since I thrive on change. When things get too stable, I shake the little snow globe that is my life, and see where the pieces fall (my parents just wish that I would get a regular job, stay in one place, be in a relationship -- you know... white picket fence, and all that crap). I am pretty sure that it applies to everything in my life -- including my art.

So exploration of style.... if you go through my art
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year8
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year7
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year6
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year5
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year4
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year3
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year2
http://TheArtOfOri.com/year1

you can see hundreds of different styles (and... hundreds of naked women (I'll save you asking --- no, they did not all pose for me... no, I did not date them all.)). And yes, I have heard "Paint me like one of your French Girls" enough times to be sick of it.

Side note: Did you know, James Cameron was the one who actually drew the drawings that Leonardo DiCaprio's character was showing in Titanic. They were looking for an artist to do it, but the artists they got were too professional, and DiCaprio's character was supposed to be decent, but... poor, a working man... Thus, not classically trained, and so they couldn't be too good. So Cameron did them himself. Another fascinating piece of trivia, Cameron made the entire movie only because he wanted to take a sub down to explore the Titanic, and he wanted someone else to front the bill.... So, the entire movie was made just for the opening shot, where you see the sunken remains of the Titanic. One last thing about James Cameron -- if you want a chuckle at all his many accomplishments, watch Season 1 of the series called "Future Man" - it's hillarious... totally different than most shows you've ever seen. And... there's an episode or two completely dedicated to praising James Cameron. Seaon 2 was good, but not quite as good as Season 1 -- but.. .that's just my opinion.

Ok.. back to art.

Exploration of style is important. Practicing the human form is important (even if you want to make it more abstract, etc... you need to know the real anatomy / form / etc and then modify... As they say, "You need to know what the rules are before you break them").

Sort:  

The color is totally dark. But so beautiful ~ What is this dark flowing? Every color is darkenized. Well, lady in the center only is only shining ~ Cool ~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

"I create art every day (over 2,660 days now) - many pieces take longer than a day to do, others I get done in a day... but regardless of how long it takes, a piece has to end up as something... Many times I don't know what I'll paint - but.... I'm in it for mastery. "

You and Nicholas Roerich, eh?

NicholasRoerich.jpg

Nicholas Roerich
Russian painter, writer, archaeologist, theosophist, enlightener, philosopher
Nicholas Roerich (; October 9, 1874 – December 13, 1947) – known also as Nikolai Konstantinovich Rerikh (Russian: Никола́й Константи́нович Ре́рих) – was a Russian painter, writer, archaeologist,...
Nicholas Roerich (; October 9, 1874 – December 13, 1947) – known also as Nikolai Konstantinovich Rerikh (Russian: Никола́й Константи́нович Ре́рих) – was a Russian painter, writer, archaeologist, theosophist, philosopher, and public figure, who in his youth was influenced by a movement in Russian society around the spiritual. He was interested in hypnosis and other spiritual practices and his paintings are said to have hypnotic expression.Born in Saint Petersburg, Russia, to a well-to-do notary public father of Baltic German ancestry and a Russian mother, he lived in various places around the world until his death in Naggar, Himachal Pradesh, India.

Wow! His stuff is amazing. I never heard of him before, and I didn't want to respond until I've had a chance to Googel him and see his work. What's more impressive (to me) is that he had that style and those vivid colors so long ago....

Looking at the work of an old master such as him kind of reminds me of this:
image.png

Hey @Joeypark - check it out ... after dozens of uploads to Ntopaz, I finally got an uncropped one :D

.. all you had to do was say its a nude

You had me at h̶e̶l̶l̶o̶ nude.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @theartofori! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.
You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you theartofori! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

I like this one a lot better than the non-abstract one you shared. This one has a much better composition. Thanks for sharing! You get my measly, worthless upvote which doesn't even amount to a penny but, I guess whatever helps. :D

Your upvote is worth way more than the monetary amount. It is a sign that you liked it.... It means something to me. People are worth much more to me than the $ here. Thanks for the kind words and the upvote.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, glad you feel that way. I put all of my crypto into my SP just so I can actually comment on posts so, the money doesn't mean that much to me either. Still, I do wish you the best, I am too familiar with being the "starving artist". lol. Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89