[CR] Squishy the cuttlefish has leveled up!

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Squishy’s come a long long way...

Hey friends! I’m just wrapping up another drawing progress update before I prepare to play Mansions of Madness with @kommienezuspadt, @treigh-c and @tarotbyfergus. When our group played last Friday we were defeated and it was bitter sweet. This time we’re determined to test out new strategies to beat the game!

So my beloved galaxy colored cuttlefish has returned new and improved. I’ve already doubled the amount of time that I’d usually spend on a drawing but it’s worth it. Squishy looks awesome! Just wait until you see what I have planned for this ball of cuteness!


The progress...

All my drawings are original sketches drawn digitally by me on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.




I forget which layer I stopped on in my last post so I’m gonna take a wild guess and assume it was right here. :)

From that last image, I began to add brighter colors in a fuchsia tone. I thought I could use this as a deeper shadow but it wasn’t quite right.

So then I went in with another purple shade which looked much better!

Next, I wanted squishy to appear transparent. I began to go in with a light layer of pastel yellow.

I was satisfied with the look of the pastels so I continued to build up the layers. I also threw in a light wash of lime green. Then a pastel blue to the fins which tied it together with the colors on the rest of the body.

Before I called it quits, I used black to create more contrast and it helps to make squishy look even more transparent. Then details to the eyes.

So that’s how squishy’s looks leveled up...


Becoming a greatly feared elder god. 😈


Opening up another file (because the original was just about maxed out for layers) I began to sketch a chibi body for Squishy. First, I thought about making the body ridiculously small and sketching a pose where squishy was having trouble keeping itself balanced because of it’s enlarged head. In the end I chose this cute but fierce pose.

I’m gonna take another break from Squishy so I can work on other drawings.


What do you think of the body pose?


Thanks for checking out my work!🦊

Sort:  

Love your galaxy color @vermillionfox Such a beautiful cuttlefish ❤


[nTopaz Curator]

We encourage you to use nTopaz for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks so much @livvu! I bet if squishy could speak then after that compliment it would beg you for a hug!

My pleasure @vermillionfox I wish you every day to be filled with lots of joy and love. HPBD !!

I genuinely thought the first image was a photo. I only feel a little silly, a lot of underwater creatures have those photos where its just them on a black background. Bad ass work here, got a possibly translucent skin feel down.

Really? Thank you!!!! It’s been awhile since I’ve devoted this much attention to detail but I’m glad that I did. :D

If there was no little white droop on that white eye it feels like a very photo realistic image to me still.

So while writing this reply, in another tab I Google to find some cuttlefish and other sea life photos on black backgrounds to show as example of what I mean, I believe I might have ran into the photo you used as a model for your drawing, and I believe your drawing looks more real the than photo lol. Also damn lol my comment was about the white droopy part seems to be a real detail on the cuttlefish.

Edit: Just seen the post where this began https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@vermillionfox/ntopaz--vermillionfox--1351541757--ntopaz-art-drawing-blog-artzone--2019-01-09-16-16-45--artwork--none it is amazing what a black background can do with some colors blended that just give a beautiful glow. Awesome art!

Yep that’s the photo I referenced! When I first started this drawing I was going to make the cuttlefish glow. I had a soft halo around the entire body but then the contrast was lost. It became much easier for me to get a cool look without overthinking it with the glow. Really glad that you liked this! I spent a little over 6 hours on it so it better look real!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love squishy so much! It is the most adorable thing I've seen in a while and I saw your first post on squishy while waiting for bus and it made me exclaim out loud Awww that dissolved in giggles and made people around me look at me as a complete weirdo, but hey it is so awesome! I want a T-shirt with it or a plushy toy ahaha!

Awww!!! Thanks friend! ☺️ I totally have melting moments when I look at your characters too!! I’m seriously considering squishy on a t-shirt.

It’s fierce like an angry kitten, sorry 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahhaha! It is! 😾😺

Congratulations @vermillionfox! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69