[CR] Inks vs Color

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

ntopaz-image-1

ntopaz-image-2

ntopaz-image-3

ntopaz-image-4

ntopaz-image-5

ntopaz-image-6

ntopaz-image-7

ntopaz-image-8

ntopaz-image-9



I befriended an old dog the other day at @caffetto. Her name was Rouge and she was happy to have me as her table neighbor. I’d pick up my pencil to draw and she’d nudge me with her snout, begging to be pet. I threw a glance over my shoulder to see what her owner was up to but he was engrossed in a conversation and didn’t seem to mind her socializing. He said aloud to his table mate that his dog was WAY too easygoing. She’d venture behind the counter to seek out treats if given the change. I welcomed the happy distraction. Heck, all my friends picked that day out of all days to hang out at @caffetto. Getting any work done was near impossible but I was fine with it.

One by one, all my friends departed (including Rouge) and I was left to focus on sketching. While brainstorming new ideas, I thought it would be fun to pass the time by inking and redrawing an old foxtales image. I included the original colored version above for an easy side by side comparison.


All my drawings are original sketches drawn digitally by me on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.





I began inking a rough outline of the original drawing using the reed brush. I made a few slight adjustments to her expression, most of the details are probably only things I’d notice (except for the hair). Her nose is slightly different because of the way I decided to shade it, the tail of her brows are more defined as well as the corners of her eyes. I began to loosely texture and shade the hair, keeping things light and feathery. I did some crosshatching for shadows and then added thicker lines in certain areas to keep the image balanced. That way, if it’s in thumbnail form, you’re still able to make out key features.


Thanks for stopping by to view my work! 🦊

Sort:  

well hello there miss animator!
someone gots to hire you already! :O <3

Thank you! I still have a long way to go!

we all do hehe :)
keep moving that pencil <3

Stunning work, you got my upvote!

The inks you make are very good, I like the lines.
It would be amazing to see your tickets in the ntopaz ink contest.

Thanks @yane94! I’ve prepared a drawing just for the contest. :)

Wonderful!!! <3

🎉 Congratulations @vermillionfox! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86