Blueberry Waffles Painting | Watercolour Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share how I painted a watercolour artwork that I did today. It is a blueberry waffles painting. I used to eat a lot of waffles during my university days as there was a shop right outside the building. SInce I miss eating them, I thought of painting some.

Tools and Materials

  • A good quality artblock that can absorb water
  • Buncho water colours
  • A round brush
  • 2 containers of water (one to mix paint and one to clean brush)
  • A palette to mix paint
  • A mechanical pencil with 2B lead
  • Tissue to absorb excess paint/water

Step by Step Tutorial

ntopaz-image-1

First of all, I drew the waffles using a mechanical pencil.

ntopaz-image-2

Then, I started to paint some golden brown colour on the waffles. Since it is the first layer of paint, I left it dilute, It is best to add colours gradually in layers because you will be able to build the colours up while adding details.

ntopaz-image-3

I tried experimenting with different shades of brown that I mixed.

ntopaz-image-4

I painted other shades of brown and added some details as well. It is important to wait until the previous layer is dry before adding details because otherwise, the paint will bleed into the parts you don't want it to. If you find it too time consuming to wait, then use a hair dryer and blow it on the artwork from a distance and not too close as that may make the paint run.

ntopaz-image-5

After that, i painted the blueberries. I did it by layers where I painted a dilute layer of paint first. Then, I added more colour to the same dilute paint to make it thicker and painted it in the shadowy areas. It looks like I created some highlights but I didn't. It is actually the first diluted layer that looks like highlighted area.

ntopaz-image-6

Then, I painted a plate, a fork, a bowl containing some blueberries and a cloth. I used some dilute black to add shadows. It is best to be careful not to add too much when you use the colour black because black is a colour that can easily overshadow the other colours. So, too much of it can make the artwork look dull in the end.

ntopaz-image-7

Finally, I painted the background with a light ashy coffee colour. I used some black again to create some shadows especially around the plate and cloth. I painted the background and almost all the other details light because I wanted the waffles and blueberries to stand out. This is the final outcome. I hope that you enjoyed reading and find some of the things I have written helpful. Thank you for dropping by and have a great day ahead =)

Sort:  

Great Artwork!!! 😀 ⭐️⭐️⭐️


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you so much! =)

Posted using Partiko Android

I was going to say it's been ages since I had waffles, then I remembered I had some a few months ago XD Had cream and ice cream with it though because I love those things and they didn't have blueberries but would totally have had them too if they did.

They look delicious :D

Thank you :) lol good you remembered :D I have never tried it with ice cream! That sounds innovative because it is quite rare here to see a combination of waffles and ice cream as waffles are served warm.

Posted using Partiko Android

This was fun to see how you created your waffle painting.

I enjoyed seeing it.

Thank you! I'm glad you like it :)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05