What Are My Nudist Credentials?

in #nudism6 years ago


I exaggerate. Censored to avoid having to use the “NSFW” label.

If you read my first post (https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@orthodoxnudism/what-is-orthodox-nudism), you might find yourself asking, "Who are the crazies? Am I a crazy? Who does this guy think he is, calling me crazy? Is he even a real nudist?"

Yes, I am. While I was not technically raised as one, I did adopt the lifestyle quite early on. I grew up skinny dipping every chance I got in our backyard pool or in the creek that ran behind our house. I spent every moment I could naked, mostly in my room, and when I was older and left home alone, in every other part of the house. And in the woods, and in our barn, anywhere I could get away with it!

I don't remember when the label "nudist" first came into my mind. I was influenced to take off my clothes not by parents who held the label, but by natives in National Geographic. I didn't know what I a "nudist" was. I just knew that those natives looked pretty damn comfortable, and I wanted to be like them.

It was probably in late middle school, when I first had some access to the internet that I first adopted the label. Of course, to this day I still prefer the term "naturist" to describe myself, though that does cause some confusion to people who have never explored the lifestyle. In one of these posts I'll explain my definitions of the two words, but for now I'm just going to use them interchangeably as I go.

The first time I ever heard the label applied in my family was by my brother. He claimed on some we profile of his to be a nudist, much to my parent's chagrin. I think they saw right through him, his interests in nudism were limited to voyeurism and exhibitionism and more prurient attitudes. These are the attitudes that I intend to combat most in this blog.

I don't believe my parents have a favorable view of nudism at all. The few times it came up they didn't seem too positive. So I kept it a secret from my family and most of my friends. Hence the anonymity here. I'm not hiding from you, I'm hiding from them.

I am not a member of any club, nor am I a card carrying AANR member. I can't afford that stuff. I just live naked with my wife and kids, who also live naked for the most part (our home is clothing optional, and usually they choose none). We camp when able and visit the beach when we can, but that's about the extent of it. We have no agenda other than the naked (puns heh) desire to make nudity acceptable to the culture at large.

This blog is my attempt to do so.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20