Nurturing Child's Mental Health - Introduction

in #nurturementalhealth6 years ago (edited)

mmmmmm.jpg


Parents and family environment play the most important role in helping children to understand and manage emotions, develop resilience and foster positive relationships. The family is where it's all learned and where the healthy basis for life is built. Watching children grow and helping them to develop these skills is one of the great joys of parenthood but for many parents, it can be quite a challenging task!

It is especially tricky for parents like my self who didn't grow up in a healthy environment and have mental health issues themselves. It's kind of a double task: Resetting your self while you program your self. It's kind of like a broken C-3PO that keeps shutting down, resetting and having short circuits while trying to assemble a proper working droid himself. It can get tricky.


menthelt.jpg

The graphic that inspired me to do #nurturementalhealth week


Another thing that adds to the importance of this theme is that as a somewhat challenged individual in that regard my kids are more likely to exhibit some mental health issues themselves: both because proness to mental health issues can be genetically conditioned and because I(, despite my best efforts, don't always model the best behaviour.

I decided to talk about nurturing because I feel it's the best term to describe what my goal is: I don't want to fix them, I don't want to teach them something new or turn them into someone they are not. I just want to nurture the health they were born with and try my best not to screw it up.

So this week I'll try and go through some stuff I have learned, I'm still learning and have yet to learn on my way. I know it's a tall order but I feel confident and hopefully inspired by my last week's success. Besides there is a lot for me personally to gain just by thinking through this theme, implementing it and learning more about it: both as a person and a parent.

Do you have any particular topic you are interested in? Tell me in the comments and I'll do my best to write about it. Thanks for joining in!


baner.jpg


Sort:  

It's really difficult for parents that never had love and care from their own parents to show such to their kids consistently because some of such parents don't have an understanding of what parental love is. But it can be done if they try extra hard to put in the required effort to give their kids the best love and care that they never had. Parenting is all about creating a better version of yourself in your kids. And it's so nice that you have the desire to nurture your kids to have sound mental health. That's what parental love is about. Kudos

I agree, except in one: I consider parenting to be creating a better version of your self FOR your kids and just letting them be their best selves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13