Energy Boosting Blueberry Matcha Smoothie

in #nutrition6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I had a fitness class today that I expected to be pretty intense going by the reviews and the information they had on ClassPass so I prepared myself a light, filling energy-bomb of a smoothie.

The main ingredient I used to make this smoothie an 'energy-bomb' was matcha, which is described as 'powdered green tea that is unique to Japan' and is significantly more potent than green tea for allowing us to consume whole leaves as opposed to infusing them with hot water as you would with green tea. It has a myriad of health benefits such as;

  • High in fiber and antioxidants
  • Calms the mind, enhances the mood
  • Boosts metabolism
  • Strengthens the immune system
  • Improves cholesterol levels
  • Increases energy and endurance levels drastically

If I feel I've been drinking too much coffee lately but still need a pick-me-up in the morning, a matcha smoothie or matcha latte is my go-to drink. It increases my energy levels almost instantly and I don't experience jitteriness or a crash as I might with coffee sometimes.

The powder can be slightly bitter in taste but the right amount in a smoothie or a latte blends in perfectly and creates some scrumptious drinks.

The Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup milk (I used soy milk, but this is completely up to you)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • About half of a frozen banana
  • About 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 scoop of collagen powder
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 heaping teaspoon of matcha powder

The smoothie came out creamy and light and kept me full and energetic for hours with this recipe but feel free to play around with the recipe to your taste, it's pretty hard to go wrong with smoothies!

Hope you guys enjoy this and let me know what you think! Smoothie1.JPG

Sort:  

healthy juice

Thank you! Healthy and yummy too :)

Congratulations @sivatibet! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It's looking so yummy ......can you give me one cup

Congratulations @sivatibet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84