The Passing of Cat Montestruc

in #obituary6 years ago

A63BC228-FDA0-4E75-B351-9140EE1FE929.jpeg

I came home from a business trip to South Korea Thursday the 13th of September 2018 in the late evening. My wife (Cat Montestruc birth name Gail M. Croix, she hated the name Gail) greeted me and we hugged and kissed and talked for much of an hour. I was exhausted, and had only catnapped on the flight back. We talked about several things including what we wanted to do the next day.

Last thing I recall before going to sleep was her going to the kitchen to get a new pen-needle of insulin.

I fell asleep, and woke up in the dark, which was normal, then went to the bathroom in the dark, I saw her laying on our bed as she often did on her front on top of the covers, which was not unusual.

I came back a few minutes later and she had not moved and I wanted to try and get her under the covers. She had not moved at all, I touched her she did not respond at all, as she normally would in her sleep, I cut on the light and her face was purplish blue, I called 911, and started CPR.

I was crying and screaming at her trying to get her to breath. The EMTs got there 9 long minutes later and took over, and transported her to the hospital doing CPR. The tested her blood sugar it was 18, which if you do not know is extreamly low.

This was related her very, very long standing diabetes, and falling asleep having taken insulin and not eating enough. She fell asleep while very tired, eating cookies and reading. She was 55.

We had been legally married for just under 10, very happy, years, we had been living together for over 10. We had known each other closer to 18 years.

You may recall me posting about the death of our dog Shadow.

https://montestrucs-blog.quora.com/A-dog-s-life-or-a-spoiled-rotten-little-poodle-lived-here-and-will-be-greatly-missed?share=e6e13b6e&srid=ua3hK

In addition to Shadow’s normal duty of being a lap princess, and generally spoiled rotten little toy poodle, she was also a medical alert dog. She alerted if Cat had a sugar crash. Alerting Cat and/or me that Cat had a problem with low blood sugar. I think this was by smell, but I do not know other than that she saved Cat’s life several times over the years.

This was not trained, it was an intrinsic ability of the dog that I guess was raw talent. We did get her certified as a service animal, so that Cat could take her to various places we went. She did not bark other than in the car when not being allowed to sit in Cat’s lap. She would frequently try to sneak into the front seat area. Eventually Cat got a device to attach to her harness to belt her down in the back seat which made her bark and whine all the more during car trips.

In a restaurant, or a store, or on visits to other people’s homes she never barked.

Shadow at age 14, had developed a brain tumor, we had adopted her at a poodle rescue facility.

My take is that Shadow’s death made Cat’s death much more likely. We discussed that, but had no immediate solution to the problem. We got another dog, but that did not work out, this dog had sweet delusions of being a lap dog.

1642E664-A134-433A-82B3-F5C5E374C860.jpeg

Torin (the large dog) was wonderful with people. But we have some Chihuahuas (at least 4) two doors down who are always out, even at 2 AM, never on a leash, and are unbelevably arrogant and aggressive, and bark at other dogs, and chase people on bikes. They would also bark at me and Cat, but never attacked.

Torin really did not like them. Torin almost never barks, and never as a threat. She means business, hunkers down and lunges at an animal who has threatend her, or her people.

She was able to pull so hard on the leash I had her by that it really hurt. Also with Cat. I had suggested a choke chain to better control her, but Cat refused.

The Tuesday before Cat passed, Torin pulled her down trying to get at one of the Chihuahuas, and dragged her several feet on the lawn. Cat took Torin back to the original owners (we are friends with them) and gave her back. This was something she felt bad about which made it harder for her to sleep.

Cat was a lot more than just my wife to me. She was my best friend and partner. I discussed all substantive business decisions with her. She was an invaluable second opinion who was on my side.

She acted as my helper and took care of a lot of details about business & running the household, and being my”gofer” a lot of the time, or researcher for getting information.

She was a very good listener, and advised many people about their problems, especially in dealing with others. She had numerous internet friends that sought out her advise.

The world is worse off without her.

Some pictures of her and family:

77929179-769A-4092-BB29-6ABF45F6FD5B.jpeg

Cat with Shadow years ago.

BE47DC32-745A-4E3D-8E0A-EE1BFA4A9446.jpeg

Us together about a year ago, at her mom’s house.

FE71E052-E7CF-4740-B54B-2F9ADEBA383A.jpeg

At the Texas Renaissance fair, wearing her trademark “Cat” ears.

E41B954E-68CE-4E2D-95CE-BEB71DC48D10.jpeg

Our wedding 22 December 2008.

5EC24F8B-ED54-43A5-9C80-CEAEB7A63E5C.jpeg

Holding her granddaughter soon after she was born.

616E6A86-A10F-4861-8222-6DDED3C9F20F.jpeg

Son & Daughter

71A686C6-7C74-4416-9C56-D614B3CA98BC.jpeg

Cat (background) her mother (foreground).

BDDA071E-62FA-4581-B562-E6E53CF27499.jpeg

Daughter & Grandaughter

3A3FD518-3DD8-45F8-80B2-1A652740C4A5.jpeg

This I will remember as long as I live. Cat with Shadow, happy in front of the home we bought in suburban Houston, Texas. Soon after we bought the house in 2012.

I will always love her.

Sort:  

Congratulations @montestruc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66