MY QUEST TO GET 100% OFF GRID BEGINS HERE!!!

Hey everyone, what beats been totally self sufficient off-grid, healthy, happy and totally free of the bondage of and depending on corrupt evil government and their sponsored cohorts for 'services'.

Are you off grid, do you plan to get off grid? Why not embark on this journey with me? The first and best way to begin (in my humble opinion) is a large and comprehensive vegetable garden.

20190312_113128.jpg

20190312_113134.jpg

My landlord and partner just delegated a nice piece of land on this magnificent property to a lovely vegetable garden for all of us. He sponsors the land compost water etc and I do all the work, sounds like a great deal to me.

20190312_113107.jpg

20190312_113905.jpg

I have ordered a nice few packs of heirloom seed from www.livingseeds.co.za do check them out. They do everything from multi-coloured carrot's to multi-coloured corn, can you believe that these are all heirloom? True story they really are!

20190312_113122.jpg

I recently cut some branches off the local perennial basil plant and they took to root like a duck to water. Bees love these, this herb will make a fantastic winter feed for bees too, so I am planting tons of these at the moment!

I plan to put around 10 of these in a row, it should make a magnificent hedge and food source for the bees as well as make a fantastic feature in this vast garden too!

20190312_113905.jpg

20190312_113128.jpg

20190312_113415.jpg

Can you spot the orchards in the background? These Tree's comprise of everything from Sharon Fruit (persimmon) Date's, Peach Tree's, Kiwi's, Mango's, Guava' Grape-Vines and more. This place really is the garden of eden and about to get so much better too with our new vegetable garden!

20190312_115027.jpg

20190312_120123.jpg

Digging the holes and filling up with compost. This soil is nice and loose with very few rocks too. We have had an abundant rainfall this season so very nice and easy to work this soil.

20190312_125018.jpg

20190312_125048.jpg

Here we have my favourite companion on the property a gorgeous 12 year old Dachund that follows me all over the place she is literally my shadow. I have only lived here 8 months but she has adopted me which is rather rare and strange as Dachund's are generally considered a '1 man dog'.

20190312_120114.jpg

20190312_125030.jpg

I am rather lucky as this soil is pretty loose and easy to dig. The rows to the left I have already fertilized and planted carrot and garlic seed.

Last night my landlord who is the owner of this magnificent land and Nursery took me to the bottom of the garden and said Craig here plant these. He gave me green and red peppers already growing nicely as well as peppadews. I just love all capsicum (nightshade) plants, which include peppers, peppadews, chilli's and more.

As per wikipedia : Capsicum (/ˈkæpsɪkəm/[3]), the pepper, is a genus of flowering plants in the nightshade family Solanaceae. Its species are native to the Americas, where they have been cultivated for thousands of years. Following the Columbian Exchange, it has become cultivated worldwide, and it has also become a key element in many cuisines. In addition to use as spices and food vegetables, Capsicum species have also been used as medicines and lachrymatory agents.

Check out more about that here as per wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capsicum

20190312_125034.jpg

20190312_115023.jpg

20190312_125327.jpg

Peppadews and Bell Peppers all planted in compost, well hydrated and happy. Now is not the best time to be planting these as we are approaching winter and the frost may kill them off, but lets take a chance and worst case scenario we don't get too much fruit from this this season, but they will come up again in spring!

20190312_125058.jpg

20190312_125330.jpg

Two hours later all done and dusted. I filled up some seedling trays with compost for use to plant my freshly germinated Kale and Spinach to be planted in a few weeks.

20190312_125113.jpg

I am busy germinating seeds for this garden at my house. Kale, Spinach, Carrot's, Chilli's and more, I will take pics and blog this most interesting journey.

Bees and Vegetables, sticking it to the evil establishment one bee, vegetable and day at a time.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Awesome pics!

I love your garden & your bike/scooter.

Thanks brother I love your Avatar, nice that you popped in thanks a ton. Cheer$;)

Woah you are rocking Steemit @craigcryptoking! Well done for sticking it out! Impressed - as always with my brother's green fingers! I NEEEEEEEED your help. I can't believe you have such amazing fruit trees! Yippee. When does the solar go in?

Thanks sister ye I would have preferred aquaponics but that costs too much for now it will be this. The landlord has the whole property under timed irrigation so watering will be easy and I get free compost and as much land as i wish to plant. Lucky me!! As for solar.. when you have R 200 000 to give me? :P xx

If I had that we would fix our solar and double it's size! You can do it for far less though. And you can do aquaponics - easy peasy - just come here!!!!

Good on you for getting off grid!

I don't plan on getting 100% off grid, but I've got a plan to put our water well off grid solar when we get it running. That'll be a year or more down the road though. But free, off grid, natural water would be a huge deal for us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow my upvote is finally 4c again long may it continue.. LOL brother I am 100% with you once you are off grid with water and solar/power the sky truly is the limit. I want to do rainwater harvesting, a dam or river will be cool too, but small steps, crypto's need to come to the party first eh? ;P Cheer$;)

Step 1. Buy 500 bitcoins
Step 2. Wait for moon.
Step 3. Buy all of South Africa and make it all off grid ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hilarious @nateonsteemit and I could make appropriate (or rather inappropriate comments on each step! If you use a bit of shoe polish you could just come and take over SA and do whatever you want with it. But I think it will be easier waiting for the moon......

Inappropriate comments are my specialty off chain (how I've kept myself contained is beyond me!). They're much appreciated ;)

I think it'd take more than just shoe polish. Don't I have to be a terrorist and go to jail for a bit?

Posted using Partiko Android

Only a couple decades of jail time and have a list of vices to support your political resume!

Hahhhaahhahaaha ya the problem starts with the buy 500 BTC's part :P

Rainwater is definitely the way to go @craigcryptoking plus solar and you should be set! Just lay in some supplies of rice and lentils to go with your honey and chillies ;)

I'm bringing a tent... and gonna come live with you guys. Sounds like a proper jol. \m/

Bring your tent my bru and some beer, I'll supply the land, vegetables and weed :P

Sweetness...may you get to that off gridin here reallllly soon!!!

Lol thanks brother.. now for a $20 000 Solar system? BTC better spark fast eh.. And Steem for that matter :P

Good idea and lucky to have a gift of land. I really like the idea of off grid and permaculture. Im not really into raising animals myself though which is inconvenient so I need traders.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not my land but cheaper this way I guess as the landlord pays for everything i just do the work and harvest the yield it should be fun and nice to save the cash not having to buy rubbish poison full vegetables from the shop right :) Cheer$;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow again I am truly honored thanks again so much. Cheer$:)

You've been visited by @riverflows from Homesteaders Co-op.

How wonderful. It looks like a veritable garden of Eden! I am jealous of your easy to dig soil. I just realised that you are related to dear @buckaroo. I can see why - you both are lovers of gardens, self sufficiency and homesteading of sorts! Awesome stuff. I'm going to plant another persimmon this year - I do love them, but the one I planted really didn't like the soil where it was - or something. I'm determined to try again!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Magic thanks a ton as usual much love and appreciation... Cheer$;)

Love all the photos of your developing garden. So very different than the white I am looking at...

Wow snow... love the snow, probably not good for plants and bees though. I have not been in snow since I was a kid! Can't wait for winter actually 35 deg African heat is treacherous!

Yes, those temps would be murder to me!

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89