TREE GRAFTING, PERSIMMON TO APPLE TREE!!

Hey everyone, I really do enjoy experimenting and what better than to have two spectacular fruit on one tree? A persimmon on an Apple Tree and a Apple on Persimmon Tree, how spectacular does that sound? Well I tried it and shall certainly keep you up to date with progress.

Here we have myself joining (grafting the Apple Branch onto the Persimmon Tree)

20190407_155934.jpg

20190407_160631.jpg

20190407_160634.jpg

Not many folks know what a Persimmon is, a delicious orange fruit that just melts in your mouth like no other.

20190407_155458.jpg

I tried two different experiments, I cut an Apple Tree Branch off and cut the branch into a chisel shape and did the same with an Persimmon Tree Branch. I then made a groove on the branch of both Trees and inserted the respective branches, tightened them up as best I could with insulation tape, lets hope these take?

20190407_160206.jpg

20190407_160520.jpg

I shall be entering these into @old-guy-photos #treetuesday as well do check it out here ..https://steemit.com/@old-guy-photos

20190407_160516.jpg

20190407_160543.jpg

I did some more research on grafting do check out this post as per wikipedia to get a better idea as to what it's all about very interesting indeed... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafting

20190407_160546.jpg

20190407_160219.jpg

If you are wondering what those silver 'leaves' on these trees are, they are for the birds, to 'scare' them away from the fruit, they do not work.. LOL!

20190407_160210.jpg

20190330_174634.jpg

Here we have a Persimmon and an Apple, this Apple is tiny as the orchard was not managed Trees not pruned last season etc. I plan to change that, watch this space next year these will be super big, so exciting I can't wait, having free fruit straight off the Tree on your property really is empowering and something very special I really am blessed!

20190330_174640.jpg

Nature the incredible, I shall keep you posted with updates on this graft, I am really hoping that next season I will get both fruits on the same tree how incredible will that be?

Have a super cool week further!

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Love this! hope they take for you

I wish you the best of luck. That would be cool to have persimmons on an apple tree.
I have had pretty good success with hibiscus. Once I had three colors on one plant. But I wasn’t able to get the Mango or citrus grafts to take. It’s been years since I’ve tried any. But you’ve inspired me to dig the book out and give it a try it again. Thanks

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.926 which ranks you at #4205 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 16 places in the last three days (old rank 4221).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #197.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13