My thing (well, one of them)

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

I was listening to a radio show today and people were asked about their little manias or fixations, their… thing. I was very surprised to hear that some of them don’t find their peace until they do the dishes (!), for example. My thing is (well, one of them) that I have to take a walk every day. Some people have the sweets to keep the sorrow away, I have my walks. In my hometown or not, sunny or not, workday or not. It's raining? Perfect time for me as I am a liiittle bit asocial and people rush to take cover.

Walking is to be present, to see, to observe. And boy, I like that! The colors, the light, the birds going mad this time of year. The landscapes, the cityes, the houses. The shadows, the people's expressions, the stops when the feet are killing you.

On Sunday I roamed at “Dimitrie Gusti Village Museum”. This is an open air museum and, as its founder said, the objects of art are the houses itself which are placed to form a real village. I'll show you a few of my favorite houses.

20180506_142110-01.jpeg

20180506_142230-01.jpeg

This is an 1898 household from Jurilovca village located near Danube Delta. The house and annexes are united under one roof and the wood decorations, the windows and doors are painted in intense colors.

20180506_141600-01.jpeg

20180506_141629-01.jpeg

This is also a 19th century house, but a half-buried house from a southern Romanian village called Castranova. This type of house spread because it keeps fine temperature both in summer and winter time. The sculpted head horse was meant to protect the home from danger.
20180506_140829-01.jpeg

The third one is from Ieud village, Maramures, northern Romania. It is built of fir beams with dovetail link procedure.

20180506_135755-01.jpeg

When you enter (or exit) you see this huge gorgeous oak tree.

20180506_134222-02.jpeg

Thank you for walking with me.

Sort:  

That perfect blue color... and the old stile houses... Brilliant photos! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much, @didutza!

E superba prima casa. As fi vrut sa vad mai multe poze cu ea :)
Eu acum ma documentez pentru o serie despre bisericile de lemn pe care le vizitez in mare pe bicicleta.

O să revin cu o nouă postare de la Muzeul Satului (văd că asta a avut succes) şi o să pun atunci mai multe poze, inclusiv casa cu ferestre albastre. Dar mai sunt şi altele (cu ferestre albastre), poate le fotografiez pe toate. Duminica asta au fost foarte mulți vizitatori şi soare puternic.
Mulțumesc pentru feed-back, Adrian, aştept postarea ta cu bisericile.

Truly beautiful houses, never seen architecture like that.

Then I'll continue the series! :)

Wow they look so nice! Do you pay an entrance fee to get in? Always love these old houses! All the thing that happened there over the years... :)

Yes, you have to pay a 3 euro entrance fee. There are 380 objectives from different periods and different regions of Romanis laying on 14 hectars. I love them too. Come to Bucharest, I'll show you around! :)

It was a pleasure to walk with you trough the village and time. I realised that I saw really not much from our country and I know so little from our own traditions. Thank's for your good post, you have my upvote!

Thank you very much, @somalcescu!

That is some very odd, yet fascinating architecture. It's almost as if it were designed by a child. I like the earthen home more, with the sculpted horse head. That one looks more liveable. Nice photos!

I'm so glad you like them. The half-buried house is not for me, I need more natural light :)Thank you very much for your feed-back and nice words.

Looks like a great place for you walk!
I always find it fascinating to see how people used to live, how they decorated their houses, what color and decor fabrics they used to use. It seems people have always wanted to have beauty around them :)
Great post!

It is a great place to walk, indeed, present and past together, and beautiful way to learn.

Ce e frumos scris, place la toata lumea! :D
Nu am mai vizitat muzeul satului de mult timp, o sa-mi fac timp pentru cand se face vreme buna!
Sa mai scrii!

Mulțumesc mult, Alex!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T17:49:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1020.54/1600.00
Total Photos: 91
Total comments: 21
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28