A Witch in My Garden: "A Couple of New Friends | Meliponini and Anthophila"

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago
Today has been a very hectic day, my brother has gone on a trip, my mother has had to go out to deliver documentation of her business to the municipal council, My Mathias is electric since she woke up at 6 o'clock:00 am, and I went to sleep late last night, it's only 5:00 pm and I'm already falling from the dream of so much running after my baby today, he does not understand that his batteries are lithium and are freshly charged, mine for a while that only recharge 5% at night hahaha. Today I could not meditate in the morning, I hope to do it before bed, however I still went to my garden, and look what I found in the tiny flowers of my mint plant.



Two bees of different classes, a pegon or Meliponini that the small black insect to the naked eye, and the other yellow with black stripes is a Anthophila , both as I said are bees, with the difference that the first one has no sting, ie no sting, but if it bites... also known in Venezuela as aricas bees when they are alone they are harmless, however when they are in their honeycombs and they are bothered the most recommendable thing is to run, because they tend to chase people, they introduce themselves in the first place in the hair and begin to bite and to give off a very strong and unpleasant smell, because these are their defenses, and believe me when I say that the smell is "frightful" I have had to run away from them a few times.



In principle there was only the little stick, when this tiny bee appeared, I imagine he thought it was a lot of nectar for a single bee, so that you have an idea of how tiny these two insects are, this flower from which they are taking their nectar, measures approximately 2 centimeters, less than an inch, the flowers are tiny, and although I would have liked my zoom to be more powerful to take better details, I think he did not do so badly at the end.



These two collectors are to blame for the existence of that honey that we love so much to sweeten our best recipes, the first bee, the stick, gives a dark honey and much thicker than the one given to us by the second bee, which is generally very similar to its vibrant yellow color and citrus notes, although I would like to know how today's honey would look with this peculiar flavor of mint.



A sample that different species can coexist in the same environment without quarrels or arguments, because in all the time that I was observing my mint plant, which were a few minutes, I never saw them fighting or altered, a sample that tolerance between one and another is good, that in this world there is for everyone, and that you only have to strive to get what we want, which is just what these two little ones were doing today. I believe that these two specimens are an example for many people to follow.

Recall the importance of bees for the planet and for humans.

.

Images of my property, taken with the camera lens of my iPhone 5s phone, no editing.











@SM-Spanish Community Discord )




Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

@Repollo Discord
@Templo Discord
@Steem-ua Discord
@Steemmonsters Discord


Sort:  

I like bees. Wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets not so much. But bees serve a useful purpose and are mostly harmless, though I might have a different opinion if I had to run from one because it smelled bad.

Bees hurt when they feel invaded and in danger, the rest are harmless, and very useful for our planet, wasps are something else, I even think they are evil! Hahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Early bird child you have! I have been thankful this summer that my kids sleep in somewhat. Soon enough we will be back at 630 mornings.

Posted using Partiko Android

my son let me sleep a little more, but still my batteries were always low hahaha

One of the perks for being a mom lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @fmbs25!

You just got a 0.61% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I did a post about a bee farm like a year ago I think and didn't realize they are so tiny. It is impressive how these little creatures work together. If they harvested nectar only from mint flowers, would the honey taste minty? That would be a very interesting treat.

That is something I would love to know, because the smell and taste of this honey would be delicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

While I am not fond of bees, I do have a healthy respect for them.
I always add pollinators to the gardens for them.

I believe that all species are necessary in some way to be able to have a balance! Thanks for sharing my post 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bees are a vital part of our existence and I’m always happy to read when they are respected. 😊 . I think the honey made from the mint would smell wonderful.

You should definitely smell and taste delicious !!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have a healthy respect for bees and their importance to the planet. It is a shame that we discover their necessity long after they have started disappearing. If one looks at the work ethic and the model that bees put out for an industrial world oh, we could learn a lot from them. Of course, that only means if I can be the queen! LOL

Excellent post and thank you so much for enlightening me the importance of bees. As always, I wish you a most wonderful day!

Upped and steemed

!tip

lol being the queen bee would be something very interesting! And you are right, if many will only take as an example what the bees do as a community and as an industry I think there would be many improvements in society!

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @fmbs25! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Pony Swimback On Chincoteague Island Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love looking at them, and welcome them to the garden as we really need them.

if so!! They are very necessary for humanity!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well I suppose a little bit of time spent in the garden is meditative in itself, so... two birds, one stone 🤩

Yes, it helps a lot, that's why I do it before a meditation, it helps me clear my mind, I love it!😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

My mom had a tablet ( a concrete slap, not a tech device lol) that she used to have in her garden. I always loved the quote that was on it.

"You are closer to God in a garden than anywhere else on earth"

That is a very certain phrase, there we can see smell and feel his work more than anywhere else! Your mother is wise!

She sure is! :) And yes, I absolutely agree... being out in nature is without question one of the most invigorating sources.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86