"Where is Jessica Hyde?" | Still Waiting for Utopia's New SeasonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago (edited)

utopia.0.jpg

Utopia (Dennis Kelly, 2013) is one of the best TV series I've ever seen. It offers some kind of strange mood, built from the use of bright colors, in contrast with such a dark-gloomy story, striking visuals with bouncy soundtracks, great characters ensemble, confusing conspiracies, tight plot... basically, everything I love about a great TV show. Two seasons were not enough. But we can't always get what we want. When the news spread that they canceled season 3, it was quite disappointing. The finale of season 2 was so strong, where one of the Protagonist, Wilson Wilson (yeah, that's the character's name) turns to the dark side and become the legendary Mr. Rabbit. We really want to see what is coming next!

BzhD2TaCQAAJH2A.jpg
Wilson Wilson and the spoon that turns his life upside down. (image source)

In case you've never heard about Utopia before, here's a brief description:

After a group of people, who meet online, discover a bizarre graphic novel which seems to hold mysterious answers, they find themselves being tracked down by a merciless organization known merely as 'The Network'. (Taken from IMDB)

Here is the trailer:

Did you see the cinematography there, the camera works, the colors grading? I won't write much about the plot, because that will ruin everything. But damn, all that bright color will trick you because the story is so dark!

Back in 2015, we heard that David Fincher would make a reboot for this series in an agreement with HBO. I was anticipating that. If there's any guy who would make a reboot for this show, it should be Fincher. He has this special signature on the gloomy pictures. Somehow, I feel that Utopia also has a similar mood with Fincher's previous film: Gone Girl. And again, the news said the reboot was canceled too. Bummer.

Where is Jessica Hyde?

If you already watch the show, you'd know that "Where is Jessica Hyde" is the catchphrase of Arby, that cold-blooded hitman. The catchphrase that will be haunting us since the very 1st episode. If you search on YouTube, there some videos of Arby saying "Where is Jessica Hyde" over and over for about 60 minutes. Crazy stuff. And useless. What do you expect from Utopia's fans...

Utopia starts its story world from a small comic book shop somewhere in London. The two hitmen Lee & Arby went there, asking the store owner about a certain comic, and Arby start to ask again and again: "Where is Jessica Hyde?", which doesn't make any sense because no one knows who the hell is Jessica Hyde. Next scene, Lee killed the store owner with gas. He also killed a visitor. And a young boy who was hiding under the desk. From there, the violence marches on with various methods. We know that these two hitmen would kill anyone who stands in their way to get the comic.

We then meet a group of people, some devoted fans of a comic that was rumored to have predicted the worst disasters of the last century. That graphic novel entitled: Utopia, hence this TV show's title. The first episode was mainly about that group hiding away from the merciless hitmen. While we still tried figuring out about who the hell is Jessica Hyde, then, bam! There she is standing at the door at the end of the episode.

The story expands so wide after this point. From a certain comic book, into a huge global conspiracy to end the world. So many mysteries, so many secret agents. Too many backstabbing and double cross, we no longer know which character is to trust. Every character seemed to have their own agenda, no one cares about the greater goals. The conflicts were nicely presented. All the drama was not melodramatic. It's all laid on the grey area of lies and truths (Which make the characters are human and real.)

Did I say something about the violence?

Oh, this one is a controversial show! The violence was astonishing to the extent that my GF couldn't end the 1st episode. This was the scene where Wilson Wilson captured by Lee & Arby, they tortured him hard, and Wilson should lose his right eyeball due to the most disturbing eye-gouging scene I have ever seen in a TV show (spoiler: Lee gouged Wilson's eye with a spoon). My GF was also angry about how come child actors being involved in scenes of adult content. (But she watches Logan (2017) and not complaining).

The cancellation of season 3 probably had major things to do with these controversies. The Channel 4 statement was quite heartbreaking:

Utopia is truly channel-defining: strikingly original, powered by Dennis Kelly's extraordinary voice and brought to life in all its technicolor glory through Marc Munden's undeniable creative flair and vision, the team at Kudos delivered a series which has achieved fervent cult status over two brilliantly warped and nail-biting series. It also has the honour of ensuring audiences will never look at a spoon in the same way again. It’s always painful to say goodbye to shows we love, but it’s a necessary part of being able to commission new drama, a raft of which are launching on the channel throughout 2015. (source)

My GF said that all the violence showed were totally unnecessary. Well, I'm a fan of The Raid. I kinda enjoyed watching other people getting beaten hard on the screen. But somehow I agree with her opinion. If we stripped all that violence scenes from Utopia, what will we get? I believe we will get a similarly brilliant show. Because the story is as great as a dystopia can be. And all the characters were memorable, with their motives, stupid decisions, full of mistakes, full of regret, all those things that make a fictions character relatable and believable. But... the thing is, it feels so good to see those gory scenes.

Perhaps this is also the reason why Utopia does not have a wider audience. It's too easy to predict that as brilliant as it was, Utopia will end up as a cult favorite. Just like the main characters of the show, where they're all fall too deep into a certain cult comic book...


So here we are, in April 2019, Amazon already start the Utopia adaptation project, will be written by Gone Girl author and screenwriter Gillian Flynn. Yes, I'll be waiting for this. Finally, we have a slight answer to Arby's question: "Where is Jessica Hyde?" at least for now...


Fin


Hi there, I hope you like this kind of content, please check my other post related to films, books, music, etc:

Back to 90s : Brit Pop, a Nostalgia of The Post-Nirvana Era

Alternative Weekend: Mogwai

Alternative Weekend: A Look back to Jakarta Indie Music Scene that Once took over the Pop Market

A few words about BTS, the biggest K-pop wave at the moment

Promoting Local Culture | The Case of Purbalingga Film Festival

The movie that really gets me #1: High Fidelity

Ultra-Violence Cinema Experience: The Raid Franchise

Being Single Is A Crime: The Lobster Movie Review

Man Tiger: A Modern Folktale, More Than A Crime Story

Sort:  

Hi gibic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @gibico
you have made such a beautiful description that I almost look at it! But no, I must be honest: I don't like gratuitous violence, especially if it is exaggerated and emphasized. But at the end of the two series can you say that there was an end that satisfied you? or have you been orphaned of a suspended and incomplete series? This would be terrible !! :-P

Hi @road2horizon, yes, you're right, they left me hanging... crap. But I have a shelter now, called Popcorn Time. LoL

wow amazing discovery! Thanks for telling me, I'm really ignorant about these things :-))
so, what will be your next choice?

Doom Patrol from DC universe is interesting, unique point of view of superhero characters :)

nice! I will go to see it! thanks

There are many series that start and end abruptly, many of them difficult to understand why, because the story was good. But it is difficult to predict, some of the series with violence still keep going into further seasons some just finished.

I remember I started to watch Utopia but somehow lost interest quickly. I believe we are all different and have different taste and that is good, that is why there are so many different series for all of us.

Thank you for that comprehensive review and your opinion :)

Hi @stef1, thanks for coming by. Yes, you're right. Utopia is definitely not that show that could reach a wide audience, many would lose interest in a few episodes. Perhaps this is not good for business and that's why they were canceling it. But yeah, so many great TV shows lately. Recently I dig "What We Do in the Shadows" and I found it amusing :)

Yes, it sounds interesting all together comedy and horror, vampire. I will see if I can get at least a couple of episodes. But when I saw that it is a comedy I thought you may find "Lilyhammer" Netflix American-Norwegian series interesting, we have had a lot of laugh. But may be you have heard or watched already :)

Lol..... I nearly misjudged your first word there. Right after I read the Utopian word, I thought it was going to be an open source project thing. But then as I continued the reads I got to know it was about series you love watching in your country.

But in as much as you tricked me, you were really on fire with your review on two series.

And because your words got me, am heading straight away to check this series are in the Internet.

I really enjoyed every second I spent on your blog and your flow was awesome. Great work and keep it uo

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @ferrate, sorry for causing such misunderstanding about Utopia and Utopian.io, LOL .

Glad to hear that you enjoy this review. Thank you!

Fortunately I saw the first season, I understand perfectly what you mean when talking about utopia. for some reason I never saw the second season. but I have a friend who did see it. what you were waiting for: Where is Jessica Hyde? @takeru255

You got my atention.
I had not heard of this series. I watched the trailer before reading your review and i have to agree with you on the amazing cinematography.
I don't care about the violence. I think that some issues must be conveyed in its just/realistic dimension.
I have to find those seasons before the next installment comes.
It looks really cool.
The other day I was playing with the idea of a massive sterilization project (I was thinking on one of Dan Brown's books, but taking that to the extreme of 100%)
Everytime societies around the world find ways to screw up every single good/creative/beautiful thing I think of the ultimate punishment.
Does our species deserve more opportunities?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06