Homemade Ice Cream

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

Hello!

How have you been? Sorry I have not been active, life is just too busy. I did spare the time to vote for a couple of contests, but that was about it :D

I am back now, crossing fingers will stick around this time, when time permits that is.

For my comeback, how does ice cream sound?

This following ice cream does not have your common flavor, as the main ingredient is......SWEET POTATO!

Sounds weird? Maybe. However, it was so good that I just had to share you the recipe and how I made it :D

Ingredients

  • 400 g sweet potatoes (or even yams)
  • 1 can evaporated milk (70 ml)
  • 130 ml freshly squeezed sweet oranges or mandarins
  • 100 g sultanas

Method

  • Peel the skin of the sweet potatoes, quartered them and steam until soften
  • Mash sweet potatoes while still hot
  • Into a mixer bowl, pour orange juice and milk
  • Add in mashed sweet potatoes, mix until well combine
  • Pour mixture into ice cream bowl and freeze for 2 hours

  • Meanwhile, soak sultanas in hot boiling water
  • Take out ice cream from freezer, pour it into a blender and turn on blender on high until ice cream smooth again.
  • Back into the bowl and freeze for another 2 hours.
  • Take out ice cream from freezer, scoop it into blender, and pour sultana mixture into the blender as well. Mix in high speed.
  • Pour back into the bowl and freeze. Repeat this blending step and freeze, for twice more.

Obviously things would sped up and easier to make in an ice cream maker, but I do not own one, so traditional way works just fine :D

Once I am back fully, I will resume my daily theme, so that it would be easier for you to find them :D

Thank you!

All photos and recipes on my Steemit account are mine. You can also find them posted on the following links!

Find me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/indorecipedotcom/

Find me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/becakpilot/

Find me on Instructables: https://www.instructables.com/member/klinong/

Sort:  

Wow, that looks really delicious! :)

many thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70