Car explosion this morning in my neighbourhood

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago (edited)

DSC_5689.jpg
I got on my bike this morning and grabbed my camera with me. I wanted to photograph the baby swans that are hatching these days in the park close to my home. For that I took my telephoto lens just to keep the distance from the swans nest witch can be very aggressive as every mother is when she feels her babies are in danger.
I have stopped at a crosswalk and was waiting for the for the green light when I saw a thick black cloud a few blocks away.
I thought to myself that It might be from some factory nearby burning their residues and I was not even hearing any sirens to confirm it was an actual fire.
I decided to go and check and maybe get some help. To my surprise there was a small car covered in flames and a few people watching how it was slowly melting on the asphalt.
DSC_5664.jpg

#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you


I let go of the bike and got the camera out of my bag. My instinct told me to shoot especially that you dont find such scenes everyday.
People were calling the police, the ambulance and the firefighters and some were getting dangerously close to the fire to take a picture.
DSC_5668.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

People were slowly gathering to see what is going on and someone asked me if it was an explosion, an old man replied that it was just a small fire that rapidly extended. At that point I realized that it could blow up. Police made its appearance and a young officer told us to go as far as we can and not to risk our safety.
DSC_5699.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

The fire kept swallowing the car and some weird crack sounds started to scare us. I grabbed my bike with one hand and decided to go take some shots from a greater distance. People started to panic and... boom, the explosion came. It wasnt a very big one but it was enough to spread the fire on another car.
DSC_5732.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

The domino effect was about to happen as also a tree rapidly turned black and lost its foliage. I have never seen a tree burning so fast, in a few seconds it was carbonized.
DSC_5759.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

Finally the firefighters arrived, they were late being forced to make a detour because of the cars parked on the small streets.

DSC_5968.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

They were moving super fast, like ants working in team assessing the situation and going on with their procedures.
DSC_5738.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

The fire was not that easy to put away as it reignited imediatlly after the first intervention.
The guys also had to use some tools for dismantling the cars.
DSC_5822.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

DSC_5866.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

DSC_5945.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

After fifteen minutes the fire was put away and now a dense white smoke filled the neighborhood.
DSC_5973.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

A strong smell of burned rubber and metal was entering my lungs and I decided to leave before risking my health. I took a final shot of the aftermath. I am really curious about the story of this accident but I guess we`ll find out tonight over the news.
I have never written such an article so I am curious what you think, I dont even know if its an article so I am waiting for your feedback. Should I write more or should I stick with photography ?
DSC_6015.jpg
#newsphotography This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you like it. Thank you

Sort:  

Hi,

This is a very sad news, I'm glad the fireman have solved the problem. I like your way of writing :D

Thank you Allesia, from what I`ve heard nobody got hurt. Thanks again for the compliment !

The article goes along with the photos so I’m glad you wrote it. Thanks for the story! What a crazy day.

Thank you so much for the kind words and I am so glad you appreciating my work. Crazy day indeed.

That's a really photojournalistic post, you did a great job!

Thank you very much @somalcescu. That is something new to me and It came all of a sudden, kind of natural, I am even surprised that I have documented this story :) I guess I will try some more when I get the chance.

Try and go to some events around you, like sport maybe, stuff like this, I don't know but I think you have a chance, was a good post.

Thanks man, I`ll give it a try !

Nice job documenting this. It really is a compelling series of photographs. I hope no one was hurt by the way.

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed the photos. I hope so too, they still have not said anything in the news. Maybe tomorrow :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Photos and the text are matched in a good way, liked the article.
The photos are good, so even in this article, you're sticking with photography. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68