Exploring an abandoned military base for some self portraits

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

At the edge of my town there is an abandoned military base. Even though it's abandoned for almost 10 years, the access is still restricted but that didn't stop me to go and explore the area a little.
I decided that i'll do a series of self portraits with a post war vibe to them. For that purpose I burrowed a World War II gas mask from a friend that collects all kinds of weird things and a military rain coat.

The access gate was locked so I couldn't get pass it but I circled around and found a small gap in a barbwire fence and I sneaked through there. The base isn't guarded all the time so there was no one around to catch me.

I slowly made my way through what seemed to be a maze of collapsing buildings, remains of watch posts, abandoned vehicle body parts, etc to a building that was still standing.

The door was welded shut but the windows were wide open, so I climbed the wall and got inside through the window.

Inside, the room was completely empty except some old newspaper pages that were laying on the ground. The whole building had an eerie feel to it. The wind was making the strangest of noises. It felt like I was in a horror movie.

I made my way out of the room through a long corridor and headed to what seemed to be the kitchen of the base. I only stopped to take a quick photo of an office that was filled with all sorts of things.

The kitchen was almost entirely burned (the walls, the ceiling, everything), there was rubble and broken glass everywhere. It was the perfect location for what I had in mind.
I found an old military coat and set it on fire to further accentuate the post war feel. I composed my frame, set the camera on a timer, grabbed the gas mask and the rain coat and took some self portraits.

Sort:  

Loving the last picture! Would make an awesome movieposter😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much!

Creepy. And pretty cool. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27