Hello.... Go Off the Grid with Sugar Creek Homestead

in #off-grid6 years ago (edited)

Hello from Sugar Creek Homestead!

Creek.jpg

For years I dreamed of living off-grid, getting back to my roots and living a sustainable life in a beautiful natural setting. It had to have a creek, listening to the water is soooo relaxing. Well, almost 20 years ago I decided to make the dream a reality and started researching where to buy this dreamland. It took me three years of researching and searching to find the property. It was so exciting! I think most of that 20 years was spent convincing my husband this was a good idea.
We put our down payment on it and then the payments began, a short-term loan by traditional standards- 10 years. At first, everything was great but then the economy took a turn and so did our income stream. At that point, my husband thought perhaps my idea wasn't so far-fetched after all. The last three years of payments were BRUTAL! The last year of payments we ate eggs about 4 times a week for dinner. Thank goodness for those chickens!!

We sold our home and moved 1000 miles!! And so the journey began.

IMG_0780.JPG

It's been a little over 5 years now 3 years and 7 months off the grid! We learn more about growing in our new climate all the time and are always trying new things...things don't always turn out like you plan but you just make the most of it. Like this season I was so excited to plant loofah gourds to use around the homestead as a sustainable option for cleaning supplies.....the little white package handwritten loofah gourds turned out to be birdhouse gourds. At first, I was a little bummed but the plant is so incredibly beautiful I just love it and it is getting sooooo big I am starting to envision many ways to use it as summer shade shelter for myself and the critters! For sure will plant them again!

IMG_20180708_182608.jpg

Our off-grid homestead life is filled with challenges and blessings. For me, one of those great blessings are the critters and yes I did haul the critters 1000 miles. Hey, were a family! And we have added some critters to the family too! There is always something goin on with the critters.

one on top.jpg

Every day is a learning opportunity and you have to embrace that! Making the change to live off grid takes you down paths you didn't even know existed! The first year was sooooo hard but sooooo worth it!
I am never going back!!

I am excited to have found steemit and excited to share our journey with others. One of our goals with Sugar Creek is to develop it as a permaculture garden. We have horses so hay fields are in the plans. I love to grow things and plan to grow clean healthy food to share with the community. We are still in the development stage and there is plenty to do and more infrastructure to put in place. I would be honored if you come along and join us on this journey to sustainability!

Thank you for your time!

#introduceyourself

Sort:  

@sugarcreek in the house!

Welcome to steemit! I hope that your time here is a blessing!

Thank you!
So much to learn!
But so far very fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89