Survival and bushcraft... Old friends.

in #offgrid5 years ago

Well... I should expand on something that's a deep part of me.

Being native and as well always outdoors oriented in my youth. It only made sense to me about being prepared. And of course having the right gear.

Well then came. The awareness that's it's more than gear it's mind set.

That changed things. I could be naked and still survive without anything but my wits.

Having a full bugout bag won't totally be an option always.

The means and thought to collect and build a replacement? Well there are times where you have to sacrifice the secondary items.

old Indian trick

Keep anything truly needed on your body. The heavy pack is tossed. The unwashed sleeping bad and spare clothes are not a good haul. The firestarter and blade as well as needed gear like maps and compass? Hang onto it!

While a good blade is nice? I can chip one out of rock to harvest meat and clean game.

A bow drill is easily made but the pivot rock after getting seasoned is not a big thing to carry and helpful when the Bic lighter is gone from the world.

But you ever get a piston firestarter? Fun...

Bush craft... Wow. Hang on I'll be brewing beer and wine. Oh emergency shelter? Oh I got that.

Give me a week? I'll have bathroom and shower, hottub, as well as dining room table and chairs.

Just something to survive the night isn't hard at all.

Having something nice with a view? Maybe a treehouse?

Well friends and family said if I get lost, I might not want to come home.

Well I need to find some. Land and get started.

Oh and if you really want to see it.... Mike Oehler is a pretty amazing underground house builder. And I got his books and met him.

And everyone should learn how to build.... No matter what the materials and methods...

And I want to do a log cabin! Well not a small one. A really big one and that's gonna need a crane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19