the Story of the UNWRITTEN RULE

in #officefun6 years ago (edited)

Finally, about two months working with my new customer, being in their office almost every day, I start understanding some of the unwritten rules. They are quite funny to say the least; At least it gives me the giggles :) In a previous post (here) I already wrote about some of those funny (maybe even hilarious; but leave that qualification up to you) events and rules.

Presence Registration


We have this in/out office registration system. Basically, when we enter the building, we are registered we are in the building and when we leave the office the system registers we are not in the building anymore.

Obviously, I ask the reason for this registrations.

Before giving you the answer I got, you have to understand the office is quite small. Ok, not so small it is just a corner of some floor, but in total we have 5 floors, and at peak time about 150 people working in the building, while most days much less are actually in the building, maybe 50 to 75%.

Quite small, right?


shot with my own little iphone

Now back to the reason for this registration system. The people at the reception desk answered my question stating:

"Dear Ed, this system is not in place to count the number of hours you are working, but solely for the event when fire breaks out in the office and we need to evacuate".

When I asked them what happens when some of us steps out the building to smoke a cigarette, or to enjoy a lunch, the answer I got was:

"You have to sign yourself out when you go outside and in when you come in again".

Paper?


Fact is, the registration system is by paper and pencil; They have a list of all employees and contractors at the reception desk, and every morning I sign myself in with the time I enter the building and in the evening I sign myself out with the time I leave the building.

Whenever I leave the office for a lunch or something like that, obviously I don't sign myself out and in again upon return since I don't find it necessary (and so far so good, no comments). But even if I would like to sign myself out and in for a short break outside, the list doesn't allow it; It has a single sign-in column and a single sign-out column with just sufficient space to put down the time in super small print (well handwritten, since this is a manual list).

Usually I'm the only one in the reception area when I enter the building and when I leave the building, so all good. I sign myself in and out and thats it.

The Unwritten Rule


A couple of weeks ago when I was heading home after a full day of work, and found myself at the reception desk - alone - and signed myself out, turned and started walking to the door, I saw a bunch of colleagues just entering the reception area. They kinda stopped walking towards the reception desk. In an instant I thought:

"Do they expect me to sign them out as well?"

This all went so quick, and somehow it felt strange to slow down and pause, I continued my walk to the door. At the same time I looked into the eyes of some of my colleagues when passing them and saw some strange looks and at least one person shooting fire.

Now I knew, I broke an unwritten rule!

Today


Fortunately, today I done it right! Today was the second time some of my colleagues were behind me when walking down the stairs to the reception, and fortunately again, I knew who they where. When I was signing myself out, one colleague shouted: "Do you sign me out as well?", the other two left the building immediately, simply expecting I would handle their (de-)registration. No probs, but kinda funny how I needed two months to do this right!

If this wasn't funny for you, I try and top this story...

Topping the Fun Levels


We have this electronic system the open the door between the reception area and our office area. This door is protected with an electronic system with one of those small keycards (see photograph). These keycards have a unique ID, registered to the user. You would think this system is the perfect system to record when someone is in the building or not?

Share the (Office) Fun


I'm looking forward to more of these type of stories. Please write them in the comments section, or create a post and provide the link to your post in the comment section. Let us share our funny office stories, about all the unwritten rules and when and how you discovered them.

for now NJOY

you like music? check @qsounds

Sort:  

favourite steemia support.jpg

I'm happy to tell you that I've chosen you for automatic upvotes as part of my new initiative "Jon Magnusson's favourite Steemians support".

This because I personally has reviewed your content and found it to be something I want to support and encourage and/or the work you do for the Steemit community.

If you believe that someone deserves my attention, please leave a comment with a link to some of their work.

How cool! Thanks for the confidence.

Lolzz Really, these registration people are the most retarded and i dont even understand why dont they expand the column for inputting data. Plus, when they have this electronic key, whats the... aah no words :D

Plus, when they have this electronic key, whats the... aah no words :D

Exactly! :)

some more office fun, from the 3rd party 'The office'... 'Fire Drill'...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29