LakeFair: Olympia's Annual Summer Fair

in #olympia6 years ago

Last week, my buddy told me he was going to be a carny for a fair downtown, and I was wondering what the hell he was talking about. He couldn't quite articulate where it was to me, but I knew it was by the Capitol Lake. Then, last night, some friends at work were talking about going to the festival, and I got more curious. Today I went to go check it out; the 61st year of the Capital LakeFair:

This area is set up right downtown, near the bridge that connects the East and West sides of Olympia. The selection of rides there was actually pretty awesome, I was pleasantly surprised. They had the the Zipper, a small Ferris Wheel, the Gravitron, and a bunch of other fun shit. There was only maybe two rides that I could think of that I enjoyed as a kid at our area fair up north that weren't there. Plus, there's no fee for admission here - just ticket costs! I didn't buy any though, who goes on rides alone? :P Seemed like the food area was kindof lacking, but I might have missed some section of it, who knows.

I made sure to score a shot of the actual capitol building behind the fair before I went on a journey to find beer:

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians! <3 I hope you enjoyed these photos. I took them with my Nikon D70, and edited them in Snapseed.

If you haven't already heard, July has been deemed the month of the minnow uprising! Use the #minnowuprising and #upvoteplankton tags and be active / build community! For more info, click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99