Are DTubeSnaps Killing Creativity, and Fostering A Seagull Mentality?

in #onelovedtube5 years ago


Yo yo my Steemies, Wattup?

After spending a cold, rainy wintry day, in spring, on a day off, watching mostly DTubeSnaps, in my feed, I thought I'd share my views on them.

As always, agree, or disagree, I'd love to see your opinions and feedback, in the comments below.

Think, Believe, Achieve.

Peace.

Music track - Garage, from Adobe Premiere Clip.

TA Banner Slim Bobaphet.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I don't think it's Dtube snap, pretty much all of Steemit is being abused. I would argue Dtube is at it's most limited voting point even with lower vote value, the variety of content they touch now is more limited than I've ever seen in my 10 months, which is another reason you see so many bad videos.

I see the point you're making there Todd, but we are also in a unique situation here, in the platforms infancy, that will never be possible again, to be able to support and encourage the developing creation of content, from consistent creators, over the one hit wonders that will come and go, like anywhere else 😀
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this topic. I hope more people will understand that dtubesnap should be creative as well. I hope more of them will think at least before they record something. Dtube is not only about snaps, but it's about creativity, engagement, team work, collaborations, improvement, learning and motivation. We all have to help them to improve it. When I see a snapper doing something not right, I always comment him explaining what's wrong with his video. Some people even don't write the title or discription on their videos but just upload it with the name of the file and edit that in steemit. Some of them are using the same thumbnail or not even caring about improving it. I think we have a big responsibility to tell them about that, to guide the content of @dtube in the right direction. Thanks for the inspiration. ☺

Yes Clixy, you nailed it there. If you're going to snap, at least get creative with it 😀
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your music was quite distracting. I think it is too loud and perhaps not the right type of music suitable for this video. Also, you took over 1 minute before getting to the main topic. As someone that has never watched one of your videos before, I felt anxious for you to stop explaining why you haven't been posting a lot and just wanted you to get to the point. Most viewers on any platform don't necessarily care why you've been absent recently (this applies to most content creators) so keep that part as short as possible and get straight to the point of the video.

I agree with you on DTube snaps. I don't really like watching them because a lot of them are boring and pointless. You should try and think of Dtube snaps as a means to compress an entire video/idea into one minute; not just babbling on about nothing. People make them cause they are easy and can get an upvote. I might try and make one in the near future to lead by example.

Good luck to you.

Thanks @kenanqhd, you're actually the 2nd person to make the same comment re: the music track, I will adjust that for my next video.
Thanks for stopping by.
Peace.

I believe in the statement Leader by Example and Practice what You Preach. As such, while we can comment on how others lack the creativity, engagement or collaborations, it's important that we ourselves practice it too.
Sometimes, ideas are self created but sometimes it needs a bit of push and research work. Plus not everyone is well versed with video and sound editing.
I can relate to that as I too had to research and ask many questions to reach where I am today. So, as much as we comment on others, let's be the one to offer advise on how or show the right steps to do better.

Hi @ireenchew, thanks for stopping by, and commenting. When I started on steemit 9 months ago, i had no idea how to do any of what i do now. I was even vlogging for about 3 months, before i learned how to edit. I am not suggesting in this vlog that people need to be expert to start, just that some people who were doing so, have stopped doing so, for the simpler option.
Everything that I have learned to do, i have done so through engagement with other content creators, by joining discord communities, such as @ddaily, @onelovedtube and @dcooperation.
If you would like an invite to any of these groups, just let me know :)
Peace.

Hi @bobaphet.. Glad to be of acquaintance with you.
I started my journey only 5 months ago with Steemit and at that time, I only knew 5 people. But thru engagement like yourself, I grew within the people I know and joined several discord groups which I had interest in.

There were many who were genuinely willing to help and even go thru the extra mile to share some best practices which I truly appreciate. Some just kinda lend a helping hand but then drop off eventually.

Be it content writing or vlog, I agree that some form of initiative is required to make the post worthy of sharing or at least worth the time for the readers to drop by and check it out.

This reminds me very much of a movie I watched many years ago about 2 culinary Chefs who were competing for the Best Chefs Award. The villian uses all expensive & exquisite ingredients for his dishes and comes out with the most spectacular dish ever while the Hero prepared a simple dish which any homemaker can do.

Result : The Hero won because of the emotions put into the dish which all the judges were able to feel as compared to the villain who only had the external presentation but no substance.

Anyhow, I'm currently with @dcooperation discord already. I would love to learn more from the other vlog discord groups and improve myself further. Appreciate if you could invite me to @ddaily & @onelovedtube.

Many thanks and have a pleasant day...

Hi @ireenchew, I can relate to your chef story, I experience this in real life with my coffee.
I drink it black, with no sugar, so you can't hide your mistakes :P
I can go to the same coffee shop and get a coffee made by the same person, but taste the difference, based on how they felt, when they were making it.
I have sent you the requested links, on discord :)
Peace.

The music on your video was mixed with your voice and hard to follow your message. I start to produce less and less Dtubsnap and focus mostly on my daily vlog. When something is new or trending people have a tendency to try it, then the hype decrease over time.

Hi @chesatochi, thanks for the feedback, I generally put my voice on about 150% and music on 70%, I'll try 50% next time for the music.
Peace.

I'm not even going to read the rest of the comments I see below. I agree 100% with what you said.

I try and look at my video content in two phases. One does it video stand on its own without text for those that just want to watch video's and the second does the post stand on its own and does the video add value to the post so people want to watch it.

I think I do a pretty good job of it..... not always but pretty good. A snap is hard for me to do for the reasons you say......I have more than one minute of thoughts I want to get across.

My son told me he will watch up to a 6 minute video IF he finds the content something he finds interesting..... I try and keep that in mind too but I am and have always been known for going over and making long video's.... it's how I roll...though I have gotten better at editing so the longer videos are more enjoyable for people to watch.

I think video editing is highly underrated by many. PLus there are purist Vloggers out there that will say a vlog should not be edited.... I can understand both sides but I would much rather watch one that takes me on a story in an interesting way than not.

Thank YOU for making this video!!!!

Hi @snook, thanks for stopping by 😎
You are quite right, in that, at rhe end of the day, we ourselves, are our best audience, and critic.
Your son raises a valid point too. This generation does have a short attention span, rhis is due to the increased pace of our modern living, and I feel os a natural progressive response to this.
I remember back in rhe 90s, how exciti g it was to get home from work, turn rhe computer on, and discover that I had mail 😜 I dont think that will ever be the case again haha.
As such, we need to bear this in mind, when crearing content for this demographic. Occasionally, I do make a long video when I need to, but I do try and keep my general vlogs around the mentioned 6 min mark.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's so funny when you realize how far we have come with technology and how younger people just seem to know how to do stuff without directions LOLL I miss a book and REAL directions I can use as a reference.... I miss NOT having to google :D

but yes, I have fun making video's and posts and learning so as long as FUN is there.....I will be here plugging along :)

Let there be fun :)
Peace.

I'm always doing dtubesnap plus, it's brilliant, as for the excuse, there bound to be some people who will abuse it just like there are people who are abusing steemit as a blockchain

Yes @josediccus, that was my point, that it is being abused.
Peace.

Heya @bobaphet
I can understand your concerns and frustrations
But I see it more as a people issue than the idea
I like Snap and now for the longer ones Snap Plus because of time
I can get my information or entertainment, also get to know the person in bite size
It is very possible to fit enough in a minute give or take, Nas Daily is a very good example but of course it comes with research and editing
For something like what you just did, which was to talk into the camera which is what Snap represents but in a minute... I just watched @runicar do a 90 second one, and he got his message across loud and clear

So, your message is great as in don't give empty content
I am with that, if you give me nothing, engagement is hard and the chances of me coming back for more is slim
But it can be done in and around a minute.....
I have seen quite a few snaps that have managed to get their point across in less than 2 minutes
But one needs to put thought and effort into it for sure, and not just press record and say whatever comes to mind ;)

Yes, I see your point there.
Guns don't kill people. People kill people :)
I too have seen some very good dtube snaps, and there are a few people who do a really good job with them. It is the attraction that appeals to the "something for nothing" mentality that I was focusing on.
Peace.
Peace.

Here is public holiday too. But my country here is warm and humid all the year.

I am fairly new so I totally love DTubeSnap. However when you get more comfortable, you tend to exceed way beyond 1 minute. So we have DtubeSnapplus.

I think if I am a season video creator, I could still continue with my decent videos and occasionally have some DtubeSnap for fun. I don't see any problem with that. But again, I am quite new here so I may not be giving the appropriate comment.

Now I am learning records few videos clips and learning editing. Video editing is actually fun. Still alot to learn from all of you.

There are many dtube snap now. Some are boring but some are pretty nice to watch.

So I think it is still up to the content of the video. Whether it is 1 minute or 6 minute. Or 30 minute. But like you said we are in this instant-gratification world, alot really don't have the attention span for even 10 minutes video, let alone 20 or 30.

Hence now in the advertisement world, they try to find producer who can come out with catchy meaningful advert in few minutes that also can convey the message to sell their product. Anything more than 6 or 10minutes will be too long for this younger generation. This is my humble view. Still alot to learn. You watch my video you will know I am trying my best hahaha. Everytime I edit my video, I would giggle at my mouth. Like "seriously, you want to do this?"

Never try never know.

Love your heartfelt sharing.

I think if I am a season video creator, I could still continue with my decent videos and occasionally have some DtubeSnap for fun. I don't see any problem with that.

Yes, that is exactly the way to do it :)
and i agree, editing is fun, just very time consuming haha.
Gen Y does it take so long :P
Thanks for stopping by.
Peace.

Yes, very time consuming. The other day I wanted to try doing cooking vlog. And the editing project is still in Kinemaster app. The new editing tool I want to learn. So it is still there stucked. Too many videos combined so too many to edit. Now I know those who did cooking vlog on the kitchen is tedious work. I salute all video creators now.

I ended up with oily mobile phone and messy kitchen. And the meal took longer time to be produced too. Haha.

You guys are so much fun. I am inspired by many of you who goes ahead of me in dtube journey.

Love your rap too.

Peace and cheers. See you soon.

Yes, I agree, some of the greatest inspiration that I get for dtube, comes from dtube :)
Peace.

Sorry didn't know I type too long. Ops.

yes when you do a snap it should be a creative one not a bullshit :)

Indeed 😎
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13