One photo every day: Birthday Cake (356/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello again!

Today was my 42nd birthday, and I wanted to share with you the lemon-strawberry cake my wife Vera lovingly baked for me!

I slept quite late today, it being my birthday Vera didn't want to wake me up until Miro brought a friend of his to visit.

She also asked what I'd like us to eat for dinner and I came up with the idea we'd eat some rainbow trout baked in sour cream and cream cheese, spiced with dill and black pepper.

What happened in Jyväskylä?

Yesterday, Leo took off to visit grandparents in Tikkakoski, Jyväskylä, some 200 km north from Lahti. Today, as he was sending me his birthday wishes, he also mentioned their grandpa Esa had been taken to the hospital to treat a bad nosebleed. That's not good news, I thought...

Later today, I got a call from my mother-in-law telling me Esa has been taken in as a patient, and that they suspect a tumor. It's just that they can check on it on Monday at earliest.

This came as a small shock, as not only had Esa and Leo planned on going to see the 100th birthday celebrations and flying show of the Finnish Air-Force on Sunday, I had some plans of my own regarding to going to the gym today. It's also needless to say but Leo will have to cut his visit kind of short this time. Well, I called my father, and he told me I could have Leo visit them a little earlier than midsummer fest instead.

I am now going to fetch Leo back tomorrow, but will take him to see the Airshow first in the morning. That means I need to get to bed really early today so I can be sharp at sunrise, so I can drive there in time.

Some cake close-ups:


Top view.


Some berries.


Berries in the cake.


"Piece of cake."

Camera body:
Lens:
Aperture:
Exposure:
ISO-
sensitivity
Canon EOS 550D
Sigma 50mm
ƒ/1.4 Art
ƒ/1.4
1/50
Dual-ISO
100+200

Anyh00, I'd like to take this evening easy and then get some sleep. I've got another long drive ahead of me tomorrow morning. But I'll be taking my camera along, and will hopefully get to shoot some photos at the airshow.

See you then!



Public OPED Project Announcement:

One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Guess what this is... (355/365)]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:












Mysterious lump – Out and about with Ninnu (349/365)
One photo every day: Käpytikanpojan aamiaishetki :: Great spotted woodpecker chick having a breakfast (350/365)
Lazy bastard mode engaged. (351/365)
Miniature city and a model railway at a Toy Museum in Jämsä (352/365)
The First Ride (353/365)
Once again! Mobile shot of Ninnu (354/365)
Guess what this is... (355/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Happy birth day @gamer00 wish you all the best

That’s a really gorgeous birthday cake which is full of love! Vera is very special!!

I do hope that the nose breed is not caused by tumour. Old people normally have very thin veins which can break out easily!!
He should reduce his sugar intake! My dad used to have his vein broken inside his legs! He had diabetics!

The months of July and August are going to be quite demanding and full of unexpected changes for everyone on different levels , depending on their karmas.

Try to keep cool and be flexible to adapt to the demands of those waves!!
You are a very angelic person and your Guardian Angel will look after you!!

All the best!
Your friend.

@gamer00,
First of all I wish you a happy birthday! You made amazing photography of this b'dy cake and it looks delicious.
Second, I wish get well soon for Leo's grand parents.

Cheers~

Very delicious cake , happy brday dear jaro

@gamer00, Many happy returns of the day and wishing you for great future. Made lemon-strawberry cake for b'day most delicious and took tremendous clicks via various degrees.
I wish Esa get will soon and his plans will success.

Happy birthday @gamer00!!! Sorry to hear about Esa's condition. I hope she receives the treatment and get better. My best wishes to your family

Happy birthday dear jaro.
Stay blessed .

Nice cake and have a blast sir,happy birthday.

I think @gamer00 your wife is excellent in cooking I thought at first sight the "cake is looking wonderful surely they can't bake this at home" but she made a excellent think so. 😋

Happy 42nd Birthday @gamer00 and Nice cake your lovely wife Vera's made. I prefer to Icing pattern. Creamy increase my hungry.
Cheers and you looks young.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67