One photo every day: Käpytikanpojan aamiaishetki :: Great spotted woodpecker chick having a breakfast (350/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello again!

Yesterday evening when I was out walking with Ninnu, I spotted a woodpecker nest that was facing eastward over the road and footpath Ninnu and I was walking on. I decided that I would wake up early this morning to go and take some photos of the chick and its mother. So I did.

Sadly the nest was quite high up on the tree, roughly estimated 15 to 30 meters away, and the terrain between the tree and the road was quite uninviting, although whether I could have gotten close would have resulted in better photos or not may be negligible at best as I prefer not to shoot birds from below looking up.

So this time I only had my 300 mm zoom lens to trust to take good enough photos that I could maybe crop later. And surely I ended up cropping them. Not too much, but still enough to give me shivers. (I really, really don't like cropping... But what can you do when the subject can't be approached?)

On with the photo story...

Käpytikka :: Great spotted woodpecker
(Dendrocopos major)

"The breakfast"


The nest looked empty, but I could hear the chick calling for food.


...calling for food...


...calling...


Mother-bird arrives to a nearby tree, checking everything is fine.


Feeding time!


"What's that clicking sound? Those paparazzi again?"


"More food, mom, I'm hungry!"


"Oh, well... better get back to the grocery then."

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
300 mm
ƒ/9
1/500
Dual-ISO 400+1600


Public OPED Project Announcement:

One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Mysterious lump – Out and about with Ninnu (349/365)]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:












I'm taking a day off Steem, so here's Ninnu (343/365)
Nature, walking with Ninnu (344/365)
Mother 1953-2013 (345/365)
Chili (346/365)
Miro (347/365)
Reading to the boys. (348/365)
Mysterious lump – Out and about with Ninnu (349/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I always enjoy to see animals in the nature , the way they live and how they know to do stuff are just amazing

Very nice photo with commentary!!
I have never seen a wood pecker in real life before!!
They are cuter and colourful! I thought they would have wood colour!! The red colour on the head was quite a surprise to me!!
How many chicks are there in the nest?!

If I would have to guess I'd say there was just one chick. I didn't see other heads and I only heard one calling its mom.

Oh! Only one baby for the mother! There should be more woodpeckers to populate the forest!

Hahaha. This is a good story line captured with in the photos. You really felt what the little chick wanted. I hope the mother can provide enough as much for the chick that day.

It's amazing how this little bird can build his own house in a tree, either by its beak, very nice pictures, and I also like to get up in the mornings to walk my puppy and breathe fresh air, it's very good for your health

So beautiful photos!. They are very sharp and capture the appropriate moment in which the carpenter bird is giving breakfast to his chick, that is seen in the fifth photo. Congratulations @ gammer00, for making us wake up with so much natural beauty

Hi gamer. You have eyes like a hawk. To spot a nest but a woodpeckers nest who uses a hole in a tree is seriously good. Some amazing photos and a good story to match.

Thank you! :)

When I arrived to the nest, the mother just left for gathering some food for her young one, so I had to wait a while until she came back. I was wishing to spot it before it flies to the nest, and just like ordered, she stopped by a neighbouring tree on her way back, and I managed to take that crucial photo. I was however a bit disdained over the fact that when she left again, the buffer on my camera became full just when that moment came where she flew off. I couldn't capture it actually flying away. Anyway, it was a good shoot and I'm quite content with what I got.

You must be happy because you got the baby and it's mother giving it food. This I know takes time and patience. It just doesn't happen. This kind of thing takes hours and a lot of good luck.

Hey that is quite a story you got there is really thoroughly and the photos look very good no problem with them, they all look very stylized and clear I would like to have a lens like that so I can take a picture of the iguanas, I see in the park all the time but there is no way I can approach them and the cell phone just doesn't work.

By the way I really like the Markdown that you use at the beginning of post, as always giving me ideas.

@gamer00,
Actually with your camera this is possible! But with my smart phone camera I can't reach this height! Great nature photography Jaro!

Cheers~

Hello friend @ gamer00, very good photos despite the distance you mention. and what a beautiful carpenter. I think the light of day and the shade lent you a lot to achieve good photos

@gamer00 - Sir that woodpecker family gives a strong message to the all of us... Look how much effort they are putting to protect their babies... This is what we all need to do... Beautiful photography Sir... Nice you decided to share it...

+W+

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28