The Hunger Games 4.: A #365daysofwriting.

in #onequality5 years ago


Photo by Taras Chernus on Unsplash

No one in sight and the stomach starts to hurts, feels like my intestine is getting eaten up by those worms, poor them, they don't know the world is at end and after me they'll have nothing next. I straigthened myself up and made for the nearest road junction, I have this feeling I might meet some packed cars, or maybe more survivor in this horrible thing.

I began walking some few steps, sometimes hitting a dead body while walking, unconsciously said sorry to those who wouldn't dare reply. Though my gas mask was on I still couldn't decipher while some are still stiff dead in various positions. Am starting to think my gene has something to do with this. Then I heard a cry from a distance, at a forty-five degree, I quickly moved toward it, using my hands as compass, I don't want to move too fast in this deep fog, I just can't see anything, nothing at all. Trying to move carefully fast is a tricky thing of the mind. So when I heard the distant cry again, I left all precautions and ran toward it. Hitting corpses, banging my ankle on the bonnet of a car while my knees cal suffers against a drainage pipe, still, the voice coming was enough to let me keep going.

It turned out to be a baby, crying continually while the mother was mouth wide opened in a motion trying to exhale air or something, I think she brought into her chest much more than her lungs could carry, the little baby was with a mask already turned out of his face, looking closely shows he just did, if it had happened so many minutes ago, the baby would have regretted his innocent action.

I quickly carried him out of his mother's hand and fit the mask back in carefully, his cries stopped. I was glad to have wiped away the tears from a baby in a world where only few remains. And made way to come out of this mess, hitting some dead bodies again I noticed I didn't feel them while coming in, maybe I've missed the road I came in through.

All I know is that am in garage kind of a place now, touching a car with full metallic body, I did knock on it the echo it brough back shows its a metal body car, ran my hands through to find out the drivers seat and made to open it. Opened the door and the company logo came forth like a diva coming out of a pool, a Rolls-Royce logo. Immediately positioned the baby next to me and checking the GPS navigation to know which city to move into, I quickly made the decision and turned the engine on fully, let's get out of this mess.

My entry into @mydivathings everyday #365daysofwriting.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello @botefarm your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85